Voting Record — Donald Dewar MP, Glasgow Anniesland (10168)

Donald Dewar

Note: our records only go back to 1997 for the Commons and 2001 for the Lords (more details).

FromToPartyRebellions (explain...)Attendance (explain...)Teller
6 May 1999 11 Oct 2000 Lab 2 votes out of 130, 1.5% 130 votes out of 311, 41.8% n/a
1 May 1997 11 Oct 2000 Lab 0 votes out of 210, 0.0% 210 votes out of 997, 21.1% 0 times

External Links

Interesting Votes

Votes in parliament for which this MP's vote differed from the majority vote of their party (Rebel), or in which this MP was a teller (Teller), or both (Rebel Teller).

See also all votes... attended | possible

HouseDateSubjectDonald DewarLab VoteRôle
Scotland27 Apr 2000[S1M-772] Decision Time abstentionaye Rebel
Scotland18 May 1999Prayers abstentionno Rebel
HouseDateSubjectDonald DewarLab VoteRôle
no rebellions, never teller
17 May 1999Stopped being Secretary of State, Scottish Office
3 May 1997Became Secretary of State, Scottish Office

Policy Comparisons

This chart shows the percentage agreement between this person and each of the policies in the database, according to their voting record.

50% Assisted Dying
50% Corporal punishment of children - Against
50% Delegate more powers to government ministers
57% Homosexuality - Equal rights
100% Minumum Wage
50% Openness and Transparency - In Favour
50% Remove Hereditary Peers from the House of Lords
50% Role of MPs in the House of Commons - Strengthen
44% Schools - Greater Autonomy
50% Smoking ban - In favour
50% Stop climate change
100% University Tuition Fees - For

Possible Friends (more...)

Shows which MPs voted most similarly to this one in the 1997-2001, Westminster Parliament. This is measured from 0% agreement (never voted the same) to 100% (always voted the same). Only votes that both MPs attended are counted. This may reveal relationships between MPs that were previously unsuspected. Or it may be nonsense.

94.4%Mr Gordon McMasterPaisley SouthLab
90.4% Tommy GrahamWest Renfrewshirewhilst Lab
89.0% Henry McLeishCentral FifeLab
88.3% Sam GalbraithStrathkelvin and BearsdenLab
86.4%Mr Peter Temple-MorrisLeominsterwhilst Independent Conservative

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive