[S1M-52] Decision Time — 17 Jun 1999 at 17:05

This looks like the vote on S1M-52

The description in the bulletin on 1999-06-15 is:

*S1M-52 Donald Dewar: That the Parliament endorses the decision to provide its permanent home on the Holyrood site and authorises the Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body to take forward the project in accordance with the plans developed by the EMBT/RMJM design team and within the timescale and cost estimates described in the Presiding officer’s note to members of 9 June 1999.  

You can search for this motion (S1M-52) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that motion S1M-52, in the name of Donald Dewar, be agreed to. Are we all agreed?


In that case, there will be a division. Members should vote yes to agree to the motion, no to disagree to the motion or abstain to record an abstention. Members should vote now.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con1 15088.9%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab53 1198.2%
LDem11 41100.0%
SNP0 330100.0%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:66 57297.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Murray ToshSouth of ScotlandConaye
Cathie CraigieCumbernauld and KilsythLabno
Allan WilsonCunninghame NorthLababstention
John Farquhar MunroRoss, Skye and Inverness WestLDemno
Donald GorrieCentral ScotlandLDemno
Keith RaffanMid Scotland and FifeLDemno
Mike RumblesWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemno
Robert BrownGlasgowLDemabstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive