Print Acts of Parliament on Paper instead of Vellum — rejected — 1 Nov 1999

MP, did not vote.

The majority of MPs voted against discontinuing the practice of printing all Public Acts of Parliament in duplicate on vellum (calf hide).

This went against a vote in the House of Lords[1] as well as the recommendations of a Select Committee.[2]

The campaign to retain the tradition of continuing to print Acts of Parliament on animal skin was led by Brian White in whose constituency the vellum manufacturer was based.[3] (He assured the House that it was calf-skin, not goat skin.)[4]

The current cost of printing Acts on vellum is approximately £32 per page.[5]

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con27 3018.6%
Lab91 (+2 tell) 38 (+2 tell)032.0%
LDem3 12032.6%
Total:121 53028.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Oliver HealdNorth East HertfordshireConaye
Robert WalterNorth DorsetConaye
George YoungNorth West HampshireConaye
Bob AinsworthCoventry North EastLabaye
Graham AllenNottingham NorthLabaye
Margaret BeckettDerby SouthLabaye
Mr Gerry BerminghamSt Helens SouthLabaye
Mr Paul BoatengBrent SouthLabaye
Mr Ivor CaplinHoveLabaye
David ChaytorBury NorthLabaye
Dr Lynda ClarkEdinburgh PentlandsLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Mr Keith DarvillUpminsterLabaye
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabaye
Jim DowdLewisham WestLabaye
Mr George FoulkesCarrick, Cumnock and Doon ValleyLabaye
Keith HillStreathamLabaye
Beverley HughesStretford and UrmstonLabaye
Mrs Helen JacksonSheffield, HillsboroughLabaye
Mr Barry JonesAlyn and DeesideLabaye
Jane KennedyLiverpool, WavertreeLabaye
Mr Andy KingRugby and KenilworthLabaye
Mr David LockWyre ForestLabaye
Mr Paul MarsdenShrewsbury and AtchamLabaye
Thomas McAvoyGlasgow RutherglenLabaye
Andrew MillerEllesmere Port and NestonLabtellaye
Elliot MorleyScunthorpeLabaye
Sir John MorrisAberavonLabaye
Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabaye
Jim MurphyEast RenfrewshireLabaye
Nick PalmerBroxtoweLabtellaye
Greg PopeHyndburnLabaye
Bridget PrenticeLewisham EastLabaye
Ken PurchaseWolverhampton North EastLabaye
Mr Lawrie QuinnScarborough and WhitbyLabaye
Mr Giles RadiceNorth DurhamLabaye
Chris RuaneVale of ClwydLabaye
Mohammad SarwarGlasgow GovanLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Mr George StevensonStoke-on-Trent SouthLabaye
Mrs Ann TaylorDewsburyLabaye
Paddy TippingSherwoodLabaye
Mr Tony WorthingtonClydebank and MilngavieLabaye
Mr Richard AllanSheffield, HallamLDemno
Evan HarrisOxford West and AbingdonLDemno
Adrian SandersTorbayLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive