Welfare Reform and Pensions Bill — Incapacity benefit: reduction for pension payments — 9 Nov 1999

Amendment agreed to and Lords amendment in lieu disagreed to.

Lords amendment: No. 43E, in line 12, leave out("50 per cent.") and insert

("the standard rate percentage of income tax")

Motion made, and Question put, That this House disagrees with the Lords in the said amendment.-- [Mr. Kevin Hughes.]

The House divided: Ayes 312, Noes 234.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 139 (+2 tell)087.6%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab312 (+2 tell) 46086.5%
LDem0 38082.6%
PC0 3075.0%
SNP0 60100.0%
UUP0 1010.0%
Total:312 234085.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabno
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)no
Ken LivingstoneBrent Eastwhilst Labno
Desmond TurnerBrighton, KemptownLabno
David ChaytorBury NorthLabno
Julie MorganCardiff NorthLabno
Mr Tony BennChesterfieldLabno
Mr Tony WorthingtonClydebank and MilngavieLabno
Tom ClarkeCoatbridge and ChrystonLabno
Betty WilliamsConwyLabno
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabno
Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLab (minister)no
John McAllionDundee EastLabno
Malcolm ChisholmEdinburgh North and LeithLabno
Michael ConnartyFalkirk EastLab (minister)no
Mrs Maria FyfeGlasgow MaryhillLabno
David MarshallGlasgow ShettlestonLabno
Martin CatonGowerLab (minister)no
Dr Norman GodmanGreenock and InverclydeLabno
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLab (minister)no
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabno
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
John CryerHornchurchLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Ann CryerKeighleyLabno
Roger BerryKingswoodLabno
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabno
Mr Ted RowlandsMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLab (minister)no
Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabno
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabno
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Ms Audrey WisePrestonLabno
David WinnickWalsall NorthLab (minister)no
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive