City of London (Ward Elections) Bill — Statement of compatibility with the European Convention on Human Rights — 24 Jan 2000

As amended, considered.

Brought up, and read the First time.

I beg to move, That the clause be read a Second time.

Mr. Deputy Speaker:

With this it will be convenient to discuss amendment No. 22, in clause 2, page 2, line 24, at end insert--

Question put, That the Question be now put:--

The House divided: Ayes 137, Noes 68.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con41 (+2 tell) 0127.3%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab86 62 (+2 tell)036.0%
LDem8 3023.9%
SNP0 1016.7%
UUP1 0010.0%
Total:136 67132.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Malcolm SavidgeAberdeen NorthLabno
Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabno
Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabno
Angela SmithBasildonLabno
Mr Joe AshtonBassetlawLabno
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno
Martin LintonBatterseaLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)no
Brian IddonBolton South EastLabno
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabno
Ian CawseyBrigg and GooleLabno
Doug NaysmithBristol North WestLabno
Mr Peter PikeBurnleyLabno
Mrs Christine ButlerCastle PointLabno
Mr Tony BennChesterfieldLabno
Jimmy HoodClydesdaleLab (minister)no
Ian StewartEcclesLabno
Andrew MillerEllesmere Port and NestonLabno
Clive EffordElthamLab (minister)no
Michael ConnartyFalkirk EastLab (minister)no
Alan KeenFeltham and HestonLabno
Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLab (minister)no
Anthony D WrightGreat YarmouthLabno
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabno
Mr Bill TynanHamilton SouthLabno
Bill RammellHarlowLabno
Phil WillisHarrogate and KnaresboroughLDem (front bench)no
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Andrew StunellHazel GroveLDem (front bench)no
Mr Tony McWalterHemel HempsteadLabno
Andrew DismoreHendonLabno
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
John CryerHornchurchLabno
Mr Jamie CannIpswichLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mr Phil SawfordKetteringLabno
Roger BerryKingswoodLabno
Mr Hilton DawsonLancaster and WyreLabno
Mr Harold BestLeeds North WestLabno
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabtellno
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Tony LloydManchester CentralLabno
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabno
Fiona JonesNewarkLabno
Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabno
Mrs Llin GoldingNewcastle-under-LymeLabno
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabno
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabno
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabno
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Bill OlnerNuneatonLabno
Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Ms Audrey WisePrestonLabno
Mrs Eileen GordonRomfordLabno
Mr Bill MichieSheffield, HeeleyLabno
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDem (front bench)no
Stephen LadymanSouth ThanetLabno
Mr Gerry BerminghamSt Helens SouthLabno
Mr Peter BradleyThe WrekinLabtellno
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Mr David HinchliffeWakefieldLabno
Mr Paul StinchcombeWellingboroughLabno
Mr Colin PickthallWest LancashireLabno
Mr Tim CollinsWestmorland and LonsdaleConboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive