Election of Speaker — 23 Oct 2000

The issue in this division was the nomination of Alan Haselhurst, MP for Saffron Walden and Chairman of Ways and Means, as the new Speaker. Those voting Aye were indicating that they preferred him to Michael Martin, MP for Glasgow Springburn; those voting No preferred Michael Martin.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con8 (+1 tell) 84058.1%
Deputy Speaker0 1050.0%
DUP0 1033.3%
Independent3 00100.0%
Independent Labour1 00100.0%
Lab310 (+1 tell) 36 (+2 tell)184.5%
LDem16 4042.6%
PC1 30100.0%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP3 2083.3%
UKUP0 10100.0%
UUP0 7077.8%
Total:344 139174.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabaye
Barry GardinerBrent NorthLab (minister)aye
Ann KeenBrentford and IsleworthLabtellaye
Ian CawseyBrigg and GooleLabaye
John BercowBuckinghamCon (front bench)no
Andrew TyrieChichesterCon (front bench)no
Lindsay HoyleChorleyLab (minister)aye
Bob RussellColchesterLDem (front bench)aye
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabaye
Ian PearsonDudley SouthLabaye
Andrew MillerEllesmere Port and NestonLabaye
Stephen TwiggEnfield, SouthgateLab (minister)aye
Ben BradshawExeterLab (minister)both
Edward LeighGainsboroughCon (front bench)no
Alasdair MorganGalloway and Upper NithsdaleSNPaye
Greg PopeHyndburnLab (minister)aye
Mike GapesIlford SouthLab (minister)aye
Alan JohnsonKingston upon Hull West and HessleLab (minister)aye
Edward O'HaraKnowsley SouthLabaye
Dr Jim MarshallLeicester SouthLabaye
Patricia HewittLeicester WestLab (minister)aye
Mr Peter Temple-MorrisLeominsterwhilst Labaye
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabaye
Jane KennedyLiverpool, WavertreeLab (minister)aye
Stuart BellMiddlesbroughLab (minister)aye
Dr Brian MawhinneyNorth West CambridgeshireConno
Steve WebbNorthavonLDem (front bench)aye
Graham AllenNottingham NorthLab (minister)aye
Roseanna CunninghamPerthSNPaye
Ms Helen ClarkPeterboroughLabaye
Mr David JamiesonPlymouth, DevonportLab (minister)aye
Ms Jane GriffithsReading EastLabaye
Mr John WilkinsonRuislip - NorthwoodConno
Elliot MorleyScunthorpeLab (minister)aye
John GroganSelbyLab (minister)aye
Clive BettsSheffield, AttercliffeLab (minister)aye
Paddy TippingSherwoodLab (minister)aye
Mr Paul MarsdenShrewsbury and AtchamLabaye
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDem (front bench)aye
Stephen LadymanSouth ThanetLabaye
Mr David MadelSouth West BedfordshireContellno
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabaye
David KidneyStaffordLabaye
Keith HillStreathamLab (minister)aye
Paul BurstowSutton and CheamLDem (front bench)aye
John StanleyTonbridge and MallingCon (front bench)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye
David WinnickWalsall NorthLab (minister)aye
Sir Geoffrey Johnson SmithWealdenConno
Mr Paul StinchcombeWellingboroughLabaye
John HealeyWentworthLabaye
Mr Peter SnapeWest Bromwich EastLabtellaye
Mr Dale Campbell-SavoursWorkingtonLab (minister)aye
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestCon (front bench)no
Mr Ieuan Wyn JonesYnys MônPCno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

TWe're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive