Identity Card — 23 Jan 2002 at 16:28

I beg to move,

That leave be given to bring in a Bill to provide for an identity card for British residents; and for connected purposes.

Question put, pursuant to Standing Order No. 23 (Motions for leave to bring in Bills and nomination of Select Committees at commencement of public business):-

The House divided: Ayes 77, Noes 106.

Noes voted against identity cards bill

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con20 (+1 tell) 13020.7%
DUP0 3060.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab43 52 (+2 tell)124.0%
LDem34 3069.8%
PC2 (+1 tell) 0075.0%
SNP4 0080.0%
UUP1 50100.0%
Total:105 76128.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mark TamiAlyn and DeesideLabno
Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabno
Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabno
Mr Andrew HunterBasingstokewhilst Conaye
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno
John BaronBillericayConaye
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
David CrausbyBolton North EastLabno
Andrew MacKayBracknellConaye
Julie KirkbrideBromsgroveConaye
Julie MorganCardiff NorthLabno
Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLabboth
Bob SpinkCastle PointConaye
Jonathan R ShawChatham and AylesfordLabno
Bob RussellColchesterLDemaye
Richard OttawayCroydon SouthConaye
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabno
Michael MatesEast HampshireConaye
Mark LazarowiczEdinburgh North and LeithLabno
Chris GraylingEpsom and EwellConaye
Hugh RobertsonFaversham and Mid KentConaye
Ann McKechinGlasgow MaryhillLabno
Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLabno
David CairnsGreenock and InverclydeLabno
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabno
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabno
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Andrew DismoreHendonLabno
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mr Chris SmithIslington South and FinsburyLabno
Mr Harold BestLeeds North WestLabno
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabno
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Paul FarrellyNewcastle-under-LymeLabno
Mr Bill O'BrienNormantonLabno
Sylvia HermonNorth DownUUPno
Norman LambNorth NorfolkLDemaye
Mike O'BrienNorth WarwickshireLabno
Dr Brian MawhinneyNorth West CambridgeshireConaye
George YoungNorth West HampshireConaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabno
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Karen BuckRegent's Park and Kensington NorthLabno
Meg MunnSheffield, HeeleyLabno
Fiona MactaggartSloughLabno
Jim KnightSouth DorsetLabno
Andrew SelousSouth West BedfordshireConaye
Sir David AmessSouthend WestConaye
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabno
David WinnickWalsall NorthLabno
Mr Roger CasaleWimbledonLabno
Mark OatenWinchesterLDemaye
Rob MarrisWolverhampton South WestLabno
Tony CunninghamWorkingtonLabno
Albert OwenYnys MônLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive