Hunting with Dogs: Hunting Under Licence — 18 Mar 2002 at 21:59

The Aye-voters failed to pass the motion:

That this House considers that the hunting of wild mammals with dogs should be required to be regulated in accordance with arrangements similar to those set out in Schedule 2 to the Hunting Bill as introduced into the Commons last session [Bill 2].-[Alun Michael.]
The rejected schedule would allowed hunting to continue under a licensing scheme.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con4 129081.1%
DUP0 2040.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab341 (+2 tell) 12 (+2 tell)087.1%
LDem26 17081.1%
PC0 40100.0%
UUP0 4066.7%
Total:371 169084.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Alan ReidArgyll and ButeLDemaye
Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemaye
Jack StrawBlackburnLabaye
Mr David AtkinsonBournemouth EastConno
Roger WilliamsBrecon and RadnorshireLDemaye
John ThursoCaithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLDemaye
Tony WrightCannock ChaseLabaye
Mr Gareth ThomasClwyd WestLabaye
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabaye
Ms Sue DoughtyGuildfordLDemaye
Tony McNultyHarrow EastLabtellaye
Mr Peter MandelsonHartlepoolLabaye
Paul KeetchHerefordLDemaye
Barry SheermanHuddersfieldLabaye
Robin CookLivingstonLabaye
Mr Matthew GreenLudlowLDemaye
Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConno
Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemaye
Mr Paul TylerNorth CornwallLDemaye
Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDemaye
Norman LambNorth NorfolkLDemaye
John HeppellNottingham EastLabtellaye
Huw Irranca-DaviesOgmoreLabaye
Evan HarrisOxford West and AbingdonLDemaye
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConno
Mr Archy KirkwoodRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDemaye
David BlunkettSheffield, BrightsideLabaye
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDemaye
Sir David AmessSouthend WestConno
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Michael MooreTweeddale, Ettrick and LauderdaleLDemaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Bruce GeorgeWalsall SouthLabaye
Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemaye
Mark OatenWinchesterLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive