Modernisation of the House of Commons — 29 Oct 2002 at 22:14

Question accordingly negatived.

Main Question put:-

That this House approves the Second Report from the Select Committee on Modernisation of the House of Commons, and endorses its proposals, in particular for more effective law making by more routine publication of bills in draft for pre-legislative scrutiny, for consultation with Opposition parties on the broad shape of the legislative year and more flexibility in programming, for an annual House of Commons calendar which would allow honourable Members to plan work in their constituencies more effectively and provide sittings in September balanced by an earlier recess in July, for more effective use of the Chamber including more regular use of time limits on speeches, and a Parliament that is more accessible to the public that it serves.-[Mr. Robin Cook.]

The House divided: Ayes 411, Noes 47.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con42 35047.2%
DUP2 0040.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Lab306 (+2 tell) 10 (+2 tell)078.0%
LDem47 0088.7%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP5 00100.0%
UUP4 1083.3%
Total:411 47071.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Gerald HowarthAldershotCon (front bench)no
Gregory BarkerBexhill and BattleCon (front bench)no
Mark SimmondsBoston and SkegnessCon (front bench)no
Mr David AtkinsonBournemouth EastConno
John ButterfillBournemouth WestConno
Gerry SutcliffeBradford SouthLab (minister)tellno
Mrs Marion RoeBroxbourneConno
David RuffleyBury St EdmundsCon (front bench)no
Nick AingerCarmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLab (minister)tellno
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabno
Ann WintertonCongletonwhilst Conno
Dr Jack CunninghamCopelandLab (minister)no
Tim BoswellDaventryCon (front bench)no
John CummingsEasingtonLabno
Mr Roy BeggsEast AntrimUUPno
Hugo SwireEast DevonConno
Nigel WatersonEastbourneConno
Gavin StrangEdinburgh East and MusselburghLabno
David MarshallGlasgow ShettlestonLabno
Peter ViggersGosportConno
Edward GarnierHarboroughConno
Andrew DismoreHendonLabno
Boris JohnsonHenleyConno
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConno
Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonCon (front bench)no
Bill WigginLeominsterCon (front bench)no
Michael FabricantLichfieldCon (front bench)no
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConno
Julian LewisNew Forest EastCon (front bench)no
Dr Brian MawhinneyNorth West CambridgeshireConno
James GrayNorth WiltshireConno
Robert SymsPooleCon (front bench)no
William HagueRichmond (Yorks)Con (front bench)no
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConno
Andrew RosindellRomfordCon (front bench)no
Mr John WilkinsonRuislip - NorthwoodConno
Alan DuncanRutland and MeltonCon (front bench)no
Michael FallonSevenoaksCon (front bench)no
Sir David AmessSouthend WestCon (front bench)no
Mr Nick HawkinsSurrey HeathConno
Anthony SteenTotnesConno
David ClellandTyne BridgeLabno
John SpellarWarleyLab (minister)no
Michael SpicerWest WorcestershireCon (front bench)no
Humfrey MalinsWokingConno
Mr Dennis TurnerWolverhampton South EastLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive