Removal of References to Strangers — 26 Oct 2004 at 18:44

Motion made, and Question put,

That, with effect from the beginning of the next Session of Parliament, the following amendments be made to the Standing Orders of the House:
No. 89 (Procedure in standing committees): in paragraph (2), leave out 'Strangers' and insert 'The public';
No. 125 (Strangers (select committees)): leave out the title and insert 'Select committees (admission of the public)'; and in paragraph (1), leave out 'strangers' and insert 'the public';
No. 149 (Committee on Standards and Privileges): in paragraph (8), leave out 'strangers' and insert 'the public';
No. 161 (Duties of Serjeant at Arms with respect to strangers): in the title, leave out 'strangers' and insert 'the public'; in paragraph (1), leave out 'stranger' in the two places where it appears and insert 'member of the public' in each place, and leave out 'strangers' and insert 'the public'; and in paragraph (2), leave out 'strangers' and insert 'members of the public'.
No. 162 (Places to which strangers are not admitted): in the title, leave out 'strangers' and insert 'the public'; and, in the Standing Order, leave out 'stranger' and insert 'member of the public'.-[Mr. Woolas.]

The House divided: Ayes 242, Noes 167.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con7 97 (+2 tell)065.0%
DUP0 60100.0%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab196 (+2 tell) 57062.7%
LDem31 4063.6%
PC3 0075.0%
SNP4 0080.0%
UUP0 3060.0%
Total:242 167063.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Hywel FrancisAberavonLab (minister)no
Damian GreenAshfordCon (front bench)aye
Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLab (minister)no
Angela SmithBasildonLab (minister)no
Mr Nigel BeardBexleyheath and CrayfordLab (minister)no
Khalid MahmoodBirmingham, Perry BarrLab (minister)no
David CrausbyBolton North EastLab (minister)no
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLab (minister)no
John BercowBuckinghamConaye
Ivan LewisBury SouthLab (minister)no
Alun MichaelCardiff South and PenarthLab (minister)no
Eric MartlewCarlisleLabno
John MacDougallCentral FifeLab (minister)no
Stephen DorrellCharnwoodConaye
Jonathan R ShawChatham and AylesfordLab (minister)no
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLab (minister)no
Martyn JonesClwyd SouthLab (minister)no
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLab (minister)no
Rosemary McKennaCumbernauld and KilsythLab (minister)no
Brian H DonohoeCunninghame SouthLab (minister)no
Bob LaxtonDerby NorthLabno
Mrs Ann TaylorDewsburyLab (minister)no
Rosie WintertonDoncaster CentralLab (minister)no
Ian PearsonDudley SouthLab (minister)no
Rachel SquireDunfermline WestLab (minister)no
Gavin StrangEdinburgh East and MusselburghLab (minister)no
Andrew LoveEdmontonLab (minister)no
Mrs Diana OrganForest of DeanLab (minister)no
Vernon CoakerGedlingLab (minister)no
John RobertsonGlasgow AnnieslandLab (minister)no
Tom HarrisGlasgow CathcartLab (minister)no
Mohammad SarwarGlasgow GovanLab (minister)no
Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLab (minister)no
Thomas McAvoyGlasgow RutherglenLab (minister)no
Tony McNultyHarrow EastLab (minister)no
Mr Ivan HendersonHarwichLabno
David WillettsHavantCon (front bench)aye
Andrew DismoreHendonLab (minister)no
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLab (minister)no
Barry SheermanHuddersfieldLab (minister)no
Don TouhigIslwynLab (minister)no
Edward DaveyKingston and SurbitonLDem (front bench)no
Dr Lewis MoonieKirkcaldyLabno
Edward O'HaraKnowsley SouthLab (minister)no
Bridget PrenticeLewisham EastLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLab (minister)no
Alan MealeMansfieldLabno
Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDem (front bench)no
Kevan JonesNorth DurhamLab (minister)no
Menzies CampbellNorth East FifeLDem (front bench)no
George YoungNorth West HampshireCon (front bench)aye
Bill OlnerNuneatonLab (minister)no
Kim HowellsPontypriddLab (minister)no
Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and Canning TownLab (minister)no
Mrs Jackie LawrencePreseli PembrokeshireLab (minister)no
Mark HendrickPrestonLab (minister)no
Stephen LadymanSouth ThanetLab (minister)no
Beverley HughesStretford and UrmstonLabno
Brian JenkinsTamworthLab (minister)no
David WrightTelfordLab (minister)no
Adrian SandersTorbayLDem (front bench)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Helen SouthworthWarrington SouthLab (minister)no
Patrick McLoughlinWest DerbyshireCon (front bench)aye
Mr Colin PickthallWest LancashireLab (minister)no
Andrew MurrisonWestburyCon (front bench)aye
Mr Dennis TurnerWolverhampton South EastLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

TWe're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive