Mental Capacity Bill — New Clause 2 — Excluded decisions (No. 2) — 14 Dec 2004 at 15:45

'(1) Nothing in this Act authorises the withdrawal of palliative care.

(2) "palliative care" includes the provision of-

(a) relief of pain, suffering and discomfort;

(b) nutrition and hydration, however provided.

(3) The provisions of subsection (1) do not apply to-

(a) a decision that nutrition and hydration is to be discontinued because it would be unreasonably burdensome to the person; or

(b) the power of the court to make such order concerning the continuance of life sustaining treatment as it considers to be in the best interests of a person whom it has determined to be irreversibly unconscious.'.-[Ann Winterton.]

Brought up, and read the First time.

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:-

The House divided: Ayes 198, Noes 296.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con2 115 (+1 tell)072.4%
DUP0 4057.1%
Independent0 20100.0%
Lab287 (+2 tell) 32 (+1 tell)079.1%
LDem6 40083.6%
PC1 2075.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
UUP0 2040.0%
Total:296 198077.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)aye
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLab (minister)aye
David CrausbyBolton North EastLab (minister)aye
Brian IddonBolton South EastLab (minister)aye
Joe BentonBootleLab (minister)aye
Marsha SinghBradford WestLab (minister)aye
Mr Simon ThomasCeredigionPC (front bench)no
Patsy CaltonCheadleLDem (front bench)no
Paul HolmesChesterfieldLDem (front bench)no
Lindsay HoyleChorleyLab (minister)aye
Tom ClarkeCoatbridge and ChrystonLabaye
Jim CunninghamCoventry SouthLabaye
Claire Curtis-ThomasCrosbyLab (minister)aye
John CummingsEasingtonLab (minister)aye
John BarrettEdinburgh WestLDem (front bench)no
Mr Jimmy WrayGlasgow BailliestonLabaye
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLab (minister)aye
Greg PopeHyndburnLab (minister)aye
Edward O'HaraKnowsley SouthLab (minister)aye
George MudieLeeds EastLab (minister)aye
John BattleLeeds WestLab (minister)aye
Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabaye
Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabaye
Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDem (front bench)no
Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLab (minister)aye
Frank RoyMotherwell and WishawLab (minister)aye
Mr Calum MacDonaldNa h-Eileanan an IarLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)aye
Mr Tony ColmanPutneyLab (minister)aye
Crispin BluntReigateCon (front bench)no
Dr Jenny TongeRichmond ParkLDemno
Mr Andy KingRugby and KenilworthLab (minister)aye
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLab (minister)tellaye
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLab (minister)aye
Mr John LyonsStrathkelvin and BearsdenLab (minister)aye
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLab (minister)aye
Mr Tom CoxTootingLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye
Robert JacksonWantagewhilst Con (front bench)no
Helen JonesWarrington NorthLab (minister)aye
Mark OatenWinchesterLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive