Election of Committee Chairs — 4 Mar 2010 at 15:41

Question put, That the amendment be made.

The House divided: Ayes 279, Noes 31.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con89 (+2 tell) 6050.3%
Independent3 0050.0%
Independent Labour1 00100.0%
Lab120 25 (+2 tell)042.1%
LDem57 0090.5%
PC3 00100.0%
SNP6 0085.7%
Total:279 31050.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Gerald HowarthAldershotConno
Helen GoodmanBishop AucklandLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Kerry McCarthyBristol EastLabno
Harriet HarmanCamberwell and PeckhamLabno
Jonathan R ShawChatham and AylesfordLabno
David HansonDelynLabno
Margaret BeckettDerby SouthLabno
Stephen TimmsEast HamLabno
Gavin StrangEdinburgh EastLabno
Vernon CoakerGedlingLabno
Meg HillierHackney South and ShoreditchLabno
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabno
Peter AtkinsonHexhamConno
Frank DobsonHolborn and St PancrasLabno
Maria EagleLiverpool, GarstonLabno
Alan MealeMansfieldLabno
Edward BallsNormantonLabno
Sarah McCarthy-FryPortsmouth NorthLabno
Justine GreeningPutneyConno
Rob WilsonReading EastConno
James DuddridgeRochford and Southend EastConno
Kevin BarronRother ValleyLabno
Thomas McAvoyRutherglen and Hamilton WestLabno
David BlunkettSheffield, BrightsideLabno
David KidneyStaffordLabno
Dari TaylorStockton SouthLabno
Anne McIntoshVale of YorkConno
Angela EagleWallaseyLabno
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabno
Helen JonesWarrington NorthLabtellno
Lyn BrownWest HamLabtellno
Barbara KeeleyWorsleyLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive