Draft Mutilations (Permitted Procedures) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2010 — Permitting Beak Trimming of Laying Hens — 15 Dec 2010 at 19:22

The majority of MPs voted to continue to allow beak trimming of laying hens after 31 December 2010.

The motion approved by the majority of MPs was:

The explanatory note to the order states:

  • Beak trimming is carried out to prevent feather pecking and cannibalism, which is a common but unpredictable behaviour in commercial flocks of laying hens. The behaviour results in high mortality and morbidity in flocks affected and is a significant welfare problem in its own right

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con268 3088.6%
DUP1 5075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab2 206080.9%
LDem33 3063.2%
SDLP0 2066.7%
Total:304 221082.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BottomleyWorthing WestCon (front bench)no
Douglas CarswellClactonConno
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkCon (front bench)no
Jim ShannonStrangfordDUP (front bench)aye
Barry GardinerBrent NorthLabaye
Andrew LoveEdmontonLab (minister)aye
John LeechManchester, WithingtonLDem (front bench)no
Adrian SandersTorbayLDemno
Mark WilliamsCeredigionLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive