Police Reform and Social Responsibility Bill — Clause 152 — Director of Public Prosecution's Consent — Universal Jurisdiction Arrest Warrants in Private Prosecutions — 30 Mar 2011 at 19:00

The majority of MPs voted to require the Director of Public Prosecutions' consent before an arrest warrant is issued to a private prosecutor in respect of certain offences such as grave breaches of the Geneva conventions, hostage taking and hijacking, which may be tried in England and Wales wherever the crime has occurred and irrespective of the nationality or residence of the offender.

MPs were considering the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 2, page 100, line 10, leave out clause 152.

Clause 152[2] introduced a provision to require the consent of the Director of Public Prosecutions before a magistrate can issue an arrest warrant to a private prosecutor in respect of certain offences alleged to have been committed outside the United Kingdom.

The offences in question are those offences in respect of which the United Kingdom asserts universal jurisdiction, in other words, those offences that may be tried in England and Wales even though the crime took place outside the United Kingdom , and regardless of the nationality or residence of the offender. A list of these offences is included in the clause and includes grave breaches of Geneva conventions, piracy where murder is attempted, hostage-taking, hijacking, offences relating to nuclear material, torture and endangering safety at aerodromes.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con264 (+1 tell) 0086.6%
DUP2 0025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab168 30 (+1 tell)378.3%
LDem43 (+1 tell) 0077.2%
PC0 2 (+1 tell)0100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
Total:477 34381.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Graham AllenNottingham NorthLab (minister)aye
Clive BettsSheffield South EastLab (minister)aye
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Martin CatonGowerLab (minister)aye
Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLab (minister)aye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabtellaye
Jon CruddasDagenham and RainhamLab (minister)aye
John CryerLeyton and WansteadLab (minister)aye
Simon DanczukRochdaleLab (minister)aye
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabaye
Frank DobsonHolborn and St PancrasLabaye
Jim DowdLewisham West and PengeLabaye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)aye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)aye
Mary GlindonNorth TynesideLab (minister)aye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye
Jimmy HoodLanark and Hamilton EastLab (minister)aye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)aye
Glenda JacksonHampstead and KilburnLab (minister)aye
Gerald KaufmanManchester, GortonLab (minister)aye
David LammyTottenhamLab (minister)aye
Andrew LoveEdmontonLab (minister)aye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
George MudieLeeds EastLab (minister)aye
Sandra OsborneAyr, Carrick and CumnockLab (minister)aye
Albert OwenYnys MônLab (minister)aye
Yasmin QureshiBolton South EastLab (minister)aye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Andrew SmithOxford EastLabaye
David WinnickWalsall NorthLab (minister)aye
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye
Adrian BaileyWest Bromwich WestLab (minister)both
Mark HendrickPrestonLab (minister)both
Nick SmithBlaenau GwentLab (minister)both

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive