London Local Authorities Bill — Clause 4 — Power to Require Name and Address for Council Officers, PCSOs and Accredited Individuals When Issuing FPNs — 7 Dec 2011 at 16:00

The majority of MPs voted to approve giving authorised council officers, Police Community Support Officers and people designated by a Chief Officer of Police under the community safety accreditation scheme the power to require an individual's name and address when they are proposing to issue a council fixed penalty notice.

The fixed penalty notices in question are those provided for under section 61 of the London Local Authorities Act 2007

MPs were considering the London Local Authorities Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 9, leave out clause 4

Clause 4[2], titled Power to require name and address had the effect described above.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con26 (+1 tell) 48 (+2 tell)025.2%
DUP0 6075.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab98 (+1 tell) 0038.5%
LDem16 1131.6%
PC1 1066.7%
Total:143 56132.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jane EllisonBatterseaCon (front bench)no
Richard FullerBedfordConno
John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDem (front bench)aye
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleCon (front bench)tellno
Jonathan EvansCardiff NorthConno
John StevensonCarlisleConno
Martin VickersCleethorpesConno
Richard OttawayCroydon SouthCon (front bench)no
Gareth JohnsonDartfordConno
Damian HindsEast HampshireCon (front bench)no
Mike FreerFinchley and Golders GreenCon (front bench)no
Bob BlackmanHarrow EastCon (front bench)no
Matthew OffordHendonConno
George HollingberyMeon ValleyCon (front bench)no
Iain StewartMilton Keynes SouthCon (front bench)no
Anne Marie MorrisNewton AbbotConno
Justin TomlinsonNorth SwindonCon (front bench)no
Dan BylesNorth WarwickshireConno
Marcus JonesNuneatonConno
Jo JohnsonOrpingtonCon (front bench)no
Stuart AndrewPudseyCon (front bench)no
Andrew RosindellRomfordCon (front bench)no
Lorraine FullbrookSouth RibbleCon (front bench)no
Geoffrey Clifton-BrownThe CotswoldsCon (front bench)no
Graham EvansWeaver ValeCon (front bench)no
Tessa MuntWellsLDem (front bench)both
Robin WalkerWorcesterCon (front bench)no
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestCon (front bench)no
Julian SturdyYork OuterCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive