Data Retention and Investigatory Powers Bill — Fast-Track Timetable — House of Commons Stages in Single Day — 15 Jul 2014 at 13:34

The majority of MPs voted for a fast-track process, involving MPs completing all commons stages in a single day, for consideration of a new law on the retention of, and access to, communications data and on the interception of communications.

The majority of MPs voted in favour of a proposed timetable[1] for the consideration of the Data Retention and Investigatory Powers Bill[2].

The timetable provided for the consideration of the Bill by MPs to be completed within a single day. The reason for the urgency given by James Brokenshire MP who moved the motion was[3]:

  • the Home Secretary made clear in her oral statement[4] last week, it is crucial that we act now to ensure that our law enforcement and intelligence agencies have the tools they need to keep us safe.

The Data Retention and Investigatory Powers Bill was being introduced following a judgement of the European Court of Justice on 8 April 2011[5] which ruled invalid the EU Electronic communications — Directive 2006/24/EC[6] which was brought into effect in UK law via The Data Retention (EC Directive) Regulations 2009[7].

The court judgement concluded that the mass communications data retention provided for via the directive and regulations is not proportionate and is incompatible with Article 7 (Respect for private and family life) and Article 8 (protection of personal data) of the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights[8].

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con210 (+1 tell) 9 (+1 tell)072.5%
DUP5 1075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab182 21 (+1 tell)079.1%
LDem38 (+1 tell) 4076.8%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 60100.0%
Total:436 49076.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Steven BakerWycombeCon (front bench)tellno
Brian BinleyNorthampton SouthCon (front bench)no
Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)no
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Nick de BoisEnfield NorthCon (front bench)no
Nadine DorriesMid BedfordshireCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
Nigel MillsAmber ValleyCon (front bench)no
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)no
Sammy WilsonEast AntrimDUP (front bench)no
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Clive BettsSheffield South EastLab (minister)no
Nick BrownNewcastle upon Tyne EastLab (minister)no
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLab (minister)tellno
Jim CunninghamCoventry SouthLabno
Rob FlelloStoke-on-Trent SouthLab (minister)no
Hywel FrancisAberavonLab (minister)no
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Hall GreenLabno
Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLab (minister)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Ian LaveryWansbeckLab (minister)no
Mark LazarowiczEdinburgh North and LeithLab (minister)no
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)no
Michael MeacherOldham West and RoytonLabno
Grahame MorrisEasingtonLab (minister)no
George MudieLeeds EastLab (minister)no
Linda RiordanHalifaxLab (minister)no
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Andrew SmithOxford EastLabno
Tom WatsonWest Bromwich EastLabno
David WinnickWalsall NorthLab (minister)no
Duncan HamesChippenhamLDemno
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDem (front bench)no
John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDem (front bench)no
Adrian SandersTorbayLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive