Transposing European Union Criminal Justice and Data Protection Measures into UK Law — Timetable Motion — 10 Nov 2014 at 17:21

The majority of MPs voted for a debate on if the UK should actually opt-out of eleven European Union criminal justice and data protection measures to be allowed to continue up until 10pm.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

The motion which was to be the subject of the debate was:

The regulations would transpose eleven European Union criminal justice and data protection measures into UK law. These measures were among those the UK had earlier in the year decided to opt out of by 1 December 2014.

The eleven measures the regulations transpose relate to the following schemes[1]:

  • Confiscation and Freezing Orders
  • "ECRIS" which requires Member States to inform each other about convictions of EU nationals in another Member State
  • European Supervision Order - which enables a suspect or defendant subject to a pre-trial non-custodial supervision measure (such as supervised bail) in a Member State in which they are not resident, to be supervised in their home, or other, Member State un til such time as their trial takes place.
  • Joint Investigation Teams (“JITs”) - to prevent and combat crime (especially drug trafficking, people trafficking and terrorism) by providing for closer cooperation between police forces, customs authorities and other competent authorities in Member States.
  • Mutual Recognition of Financial Penalties scheme which requires Member States to collect financial penalties (of over £55.31 or €70) transferred by other Member States, as they would a domestic financial penalty.
  • Prisoner Transfer Framework which provides for the compulsory transfer of foreign national offenders between Member States without the consent of the prisoner
  • Swedish Initiative which seeks to simplify the exchange of information and intelligence between law enforcement authorities in Member States for the purposes of conducting criminal investigations or criminal intelligence operations.
  • Trials in absentia several measures relate to this scheme which deals with the issue of judgements in absentia and require mutual recognition of such judgements.
  • Data Protection Framework Decision which establishes a common level of protection and an appropriate level of security when Member States exchange personal data within the framework of police and judicial cooperation in criminal matters.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con209 (+1 tell) 35181.2%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 10100.0%
Lab0 191 (+2 tell)074.8%
LDem40 (+1 tell) 3078.6%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 4066.7%
UKIP0 10100.0%
Total:250 241177.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Adam AfriyieWindsorCon (front bench)no
Steven BakerWycombeCon (front bench)no
Steve BarclayNorth East CambridgeshireConno
Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)no
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestCon (front bench)no
Andrew BridgenNorth West LeicestershireCon (front bench)no
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)no
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Nick de BoisEnfield NorthCon (front bench)no
Richard DraxSouth DorsetCon (front bench)no
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkCon (front bench)no
James GrayNorth WiltshireCon (front bench)no
Chris Heaton-HarrisDaventryCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexCon (front bench)no
Chris KellyDudley SouthCon (front bench)no
Edward LeighGainsboroughCon (front bench)no
Julian LewisNew Forest EastCon (front bench)no
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenCon (front bench)no
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyCon (front bench)no
Nigel MillsAmber ValleyCon (front bench)no
Anne Marie MorrisNewton AbbotCon (front bench)no
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleCon (front bench)no
Dominic RaabEsher and WaltonCon (front bench)no
John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetCon (front bench)no
Simon ReevellDewsburyCon (front bench)no
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConno
Bob StewartBeckenhamCon (front bench)no
Graham StuartBeverley and HoldernessCon (front bench)no
Bill WigginNorth HerefordshireConno
Sarah WollastonTotnesCon (front bench)no
Crispin BluntReigateConboth
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDem (front bench)no
Martin HorwoodCheltenhamLDemno
Adrian SandersTorbayLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive