Motion to Sit in Private — 16 Oct 2015 at 09:30

The majority of MPs voted not to hold a private session of the House of Commons.

The text of the motion rejected in the vote was:

  • That the House sit in private.

The House of Commons' Standing Order No. 163 says:

  • If at any sitting of the House... any Member moves 'That the House sit in private' the Speaker... shall forthwith put the question 'That the House sit in private', and such question, though opposed, may be decided after the expiration of the time for opposed business, but such a Motion may be made no more than once in any sitting.

Moving the motion to sit in private is almost always a procedural tactic. By ensuring the defeat of a motion to sit in private at the beginning of the sitting, the mover makes it impossible for any member to move the motion during a subsequent debate.

If such a motion is brought during the debate on a Bill, and fewer than 40 MPs vote in it, then the debate ends immediately regardless of the result (following Standing Order 44). Such an ending of debate occurred on the 14th of March 2003. The points of order following that division show MPs questioning the appropriateness of the tactic.

Moving a motion to sit in private is often done first thing on a Friday morning. Moving the motion ensures it can't be moved later in the day, when MPs might have returned to their constituencies for the weekend and too few members may be present to reach the 40 member threshold leading to the discussion of the business before the house (typically private members' Bills) being brought to an end.

See also What is a motion to sit in private? from the PublicWhip FAQ.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

All Votes Cast - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party are marked in red. Also shows which MPs were ministers at the time of this vote. You can also see every eligible MP including those who did not vote in this division.

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Philip DaviesShipleyContellaye
David NuttallBury NorthContellaye
Steven BakerWycombeContellno
Andrew BinghamHigh PeakConno
Nicholas BolesGrantham and StamfordConno
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConno
Julian BrazierCanterburyConno
Alun CairnsVale of GlamorganConno
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
Therese CoffeySuffolk CoastalConno
Michael EllisNorthampton NorthConno
George EusticeCamborne and RedruthConno
George FreemanMid NorfolkConno
Mark GarnierWyre ForestConno
David GaukeSouth West HertfordshireConno
Robert GoodwillScarborough and WhitbyConno
Matthew HancockWest SuffolkConno
John HayesSouth Holland and The DeepingsConno
Chris Heaton-HarrisDaventryConno
George HollingberyMeon ValleyConno
Philip HolloboneKetteringConno
Kris HopkinsKeighleyConno
Margot JamesStourbridgeConno
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexConno
Marcus JonesNuneatonConno
Andrea LeadsomSouth NorthamptonshireConno
Edward LeighGainsboroughConno
Wendy MortonAldridge-BrownhillsConno
John PenroseWeston-Super-MareConno
Dominic RaabEsher and WaltonConno
Grant ShappsWelwyn HatfieldConno
Henry SmithCrawleyConno
Julian SmithSkipton and RiponConno
Hugo SwireEast DevonConno
Edward TimpsonCrewe and NantwichConno
Justin TomlinsonNorth SwindonConno
Sarah WollastonTotnesConno
Heidi AlexanderLewisham EastLabno
Karen BuckWestminster NorthLabno
Alan CampbellTynemouthLabno
Neil CoyleBermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabno
Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and LimehouseLabno
Grahame MorrisEasingtonLabtellno
Matthew PennycookGreenwich and WoolwichLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Alistair CarmichaelOrkney and ShetlandLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive