Members' Pay (Expression of Opinion) — 5 Jul 2001 at 16:14

Question accordingly negatived.

Main Question put:-

The House divided: Ayes 276, Noes 42.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con42 3027.4%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab207 (+2 tell) 28 (+2 tell)058.2%
LDem24 5055.8%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP3 0050.0%
Total:276 42050.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Ms Oona KingBethnal Green and BowLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)no
Mrs Valerie DaveyBristol WestLabno
Nick PalmerBroxtoweLabno
Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLabno
Paul HolmesChesterfieldLDemno
Ian PearsonDudley SouthLab (minister)no
Piara S KhabraEaling, SouthallLabno
John AustinErith and ThamesmeadLabno
Mr Peter DuncanGalloway and Upper NithsdaleConno
Anthony D WrightGreat YarmouthLabno
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mr Phil SawfordKetteringLabno
Roger BerryKingswoodLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestCon (front bench)no
Mr David RendelNewburyLDemno
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabtellno
Mike O'BrienNorth WarwickshireLabno
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabno
Steve WebbNorthavonLDem (front bench)no
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabno
Phil WoolasOldham East and SaddleworthLab (minister)no
Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and Canning TownLab (minister)no
Martin SalterReading WestLabno
Dr Jenny TongeRichmond ParkLDemno
Mr Richard AllanSheffield, HallamLDem (front bench)no
Mr Paul MarsdenShrewsbury and Atchamwhilst Labno
Mark ToddSouth DerbyshireLabtellno
Ms Julia DrownSouth SwindonLabno
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabno
David DrewStroudLab (minister)no
Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabno
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabno
Mr Paul StinchcombeWellingboroughLabno
Oliver LetwinWest DorsetCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

TWe're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive