Third Report of the Procedure Committee — Election of an MP to More Than One Seat — Brian Haw's Protest Camp — 3 Nov 2004 at 19:17

Those who voted Aye agreed that "this House takes note of" the Third Report of the Procedure Committee, Session 2002–03, on Sessional Orders and Resolutions, HC 855, and the Government's Response thereto (published as the Committee's Third Special Report of the current Session, HC 613); approves the proposals set out in paragraphs 9, 10 and 25 of the Report for changes in the practice of the House at the beginning of each Session; and, as recommended in paragraph 9(b), makes the following provision:

All Members of this House who are returned for two or more places in any part of the United Kingdom should choose for which of the places they will serve, within one week after it appears that there is no question about their election for that place.

The majority of the debate was, however, about paragraph 25 and the effect its recommendations were intended have on criminalizing Brian Haw's protest camp in Parliament Square. This may have been what some of the MPs were voting against.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con31 13 (+1 tell)228.8%
DUP0 3050.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab95 (+2 tell) 16027.8%
LDem2 31 (+1 tell)061.8%
PC0 1025.0%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP0 3060.0%
Total:128 73232.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Gerald HowarthAldershotConno
Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabno
Andrew RobathanBlabyConboth
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
David LepperBrighton, PavilionLabno
Eric ForthBromley and ChislehurstContellno
Bob SpinkCastle PointConno
Jim CunninghamCoventry SouthLabno
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabno
Jon CruddasDagenhamLabno
Mr Iain LukeDundee EastLabno
Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamConno
Eleanor LaingEpping ForestConno
Mr Peter DuncanGalloway and Upper NithsdaleConno
Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabno
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestConno
James GrayNorth WiltshireConno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Robert SymsPooleConno
Mr John TaylorSolihullConno
Sir David AmessSouthend WestConboth
David DrewStroudLabno
Brian JenkinsTamworthLabno
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyConno
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemaye
Anne McIntoshVale of YorkConno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemaye
John RedwoodWokinghamConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive