Modernisation of the House of Commons (Standing Orders) — 12 Nov 2008 at 19:08

Motion made, and Question proposed,

That the amendments to the Standing Orders and new Orders, agreed to by this House on 25th October 2007, relating to the recommendations of the Select Committee on Modernisation of the House of Commons in its First Report of Session 2006-07, Revitalising the Chamber: the role of the back bench Member (House of Commons Paper No. 337 of Session 2006-5 07) and the Government response thereto (Cm. 7231) shall have permanent effect with the following amendments-
(1) In Standing Order No. 24A (Topical debates)-
(d) in line 19, leave out 'six' and insert 'ten'; and
(e) in line 24, leave out from 'to' to the end of line 26 and insert 'a maximum of five interventions.'.
(2) In Standing Order No. 24B (Amendments to motions to consider specified
(a) in line 1, after 'Speaker', insert 'or the Chairman'; and
(b) in line 2, after 'House', insert 'or, as the case may be, the committee'.- [Ms Harman.]

Amendment proposed: (a), leave out lines 9 to 12. -[Mrs. May.]

Question put, That the amendment be made:-

The House divided: Ayes 165, Noes 87.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con133 (+2 tell) 0069.9%
DUP0 4044.4%
Independent2 1060.0%
Lab27 31217.1%
LDem0 43 (+2 tell)071.4%
PC0 1033.3%
SNP0 5071.4%
UKIP1 00100.0%
Total:163 85240.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Hugh BayleyCity of YorkLab (minister)aye
Roger BerryKingswoodLab (minister)aye
David CairnsInverclydeLabaye
David CrausbyBolton North EastLab (minister)aye
Tony CunninghamWorkingtonLab (minister)aye
Andrew DismoreHendonLab (minister)aye
Clive EffordElthamLab (minister)aye
Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and Canning TownLab (minister)aye
Bruce GeorgeWalsall SouthLabaye
Mike HallWeaver ValeLab (minister)aye
David HansonDelynLab (minister)aye
John HealeyWentworthLab (minister)aye
Mark HendrickPrestonLab (minister)aye
Brian IddonBolton South EastLab (minister)aye
Kevan JonesNorth DurhamLab (minister)aye
Judy MallaberAmber ValleyLab (minister)aye
Thomas McAvoyRutherglen and Hamilton WestLab (minister)aye
Steve McCabeBirmingham, Hall GreenLab (minister)aye
Tony McNultyHarrow EastLab (minister)aye
Gillian MerronLincolnLab (minister)aye
Alun MichaelCardiff South and PenarthLab (minister)aye
Bill OlnerNuneatonLab (minister)aye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)aye
Gavin StrangEdinburgh EastLab (minister)aye
Desmond TurnerBrighton, KemptownLab (minister)aye
Phil WoolasOldham East and SaddleworthLab (minister)aye
Iain WrightHartlepoolLab (minister)aye
Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLab (minister)both
Tom WatsonWest Bromwich EastLab (minister)both

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive