Regulation of Hairdressers — Fines for Hairdressing Commercially Without a Licence — 30 Nov 2011 at 14:37

The majority of MPs voted against introducing greater regulation for hairdressers including fines for hairdressing commercially without a licence.

The motion rejected in this vote was:

  • That leave be given to bring in a Bill to amend the Hairdressers (Registration) Act 1964 to provide for the mandatory registration of hairdressers with the Hairdressing Council;
  • to empower the Hairdressing Council to issue and charge for licences to hairdressers holding certain qualifications;
  • to provide for the removal of names from the register by the Hairdressing Council on the recommendation of its investigating and disciplinary committees;
  • to introduce a scale of fines payable by those without a licence charging for hairdressing services; and for connected purposes.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con42 (+2 tell) 23 (+2 tell)022.5%
DUP5 0062.5%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab5 30013.6%
LDem8 9131.6%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP2 0033.3%
Total:66 62120.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John MannBassetlawLabno
Jane EllisonBatterseaConaye
Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemno
John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDemboth
Simon KirbyBrighton, KemptownConaye
Julian HuppertCambridgeLDemno
Tom BrakeCarshalton and WallingtonLDemno
Mark WilliamsCeredigionLDemno
Louise MenschCorbyConaye
Chris Heaton-HarrisDaventryConaye
Charlie ElphickeDoverContellaye
Thomas DochertyDunfermline and West FifeLabno
Nick de BoisEnfield NorthConaye
Ben BradshawExeterLabno
Caroline DinenageGosportConaye
Guy OppermanHexhamConaye
Mike WeatherleyHoveConaye
Lee ScottIlford NorthConaye
Mike GapesIlford SouthLabno
Greg MulhollandLeeds North WestLDemno
John LeechManchester, WithingtonLDemno
Iain StewartMilton Keynes SouthConaye
David MorrisMorecambe and LunesdaleConaye
Justin TomlinsonNorth SwindonConaye
Stuart AndrewPudseyConaye
Caroline NokesRomsey and Southampton NorthConaye
Nigel AdamsSelby and AinstyConaye
Fiona MactaggartSloughLabno
Sheryll MurraySouth East CornwallConaye
Andrea LeadsomSouth NorthamptonshireConaye
John PughSouthportLDemno
Karen BradleyStaffordshire MoorlandsContellaye
Stephen McPartlandStevenageConaye
Sarah NewtonTruro and FalmouthConaye
Chris WhiteWarwick and LeamingtonConaye
Richard HarringtonWatfordConaye
Peter AldousWaveneyConaye
Tessa MuntWellsLDemno
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive