Regulation of Hairdressers — Fines for Hairdressing Commercially Without a Licence — 30 Nov 2011 at 14:37

The majority of MPs voted against introducing greater regulation for hairdressers including fines for hairdressing commercially without a licence.

The motion rejected in this vote was:

  • That leave be given to bring in a Bill to amend the Hairdressers (Registration) Act 1964 to provide for the mandatory registration of hairdressers with the Hairdressing Council;
  • to empower the Hairdressing Council to issue and charge for licences to hairdressers holding certain qualifications;
  • to provide for the removal of names from the register by the Hairdressing Council on the recommendation of its investigating and disciplinary committees;
  • to introduce a scale of fines payable by those without a licence charging for hairdressing services; and for connected purposes.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con42 (+2 tell) 23 (+2 tell)022.5%
DUP5 0062.5%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab5 30013.6%
LDem8 9131.6%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP2 0033.3%
Total:66 62120.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Nigel AdamsSelby and AinstyConaye
Peter AldousWaveneyConaye
Stuart AndrewPudseyConaye
Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemno
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConaye
Karen BradleyStaffordshire MoorlandsContellaye
Ben BradshawExeterLabno
Tom BrakeCarshalton and WallingtonLDemno
Nick de BoisEnfield NorthConaye
Caroline DinenageGosportConaye
Thomas DochertyDunfermline and West FifeLabno
Jane EllisonBatterseaConaye
Charlie ElphickeDoverContellaye
Mike GapesIlford SouthLabno
Richard HarringtonWatfordConaye
Chris Heaton-HarrisDaventryConaye
John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDemboth
Julian HuppertCambridgeLDemno
Simon KirbyBrighton, KemptownConaye
Andrea LeadsomSouth NorthamptonshireConaye
John LeechManchester, WithingtonLDemno
Fiona MactaggartSloughLabno
John MannBassetlawLabno
Stephen McPartlandStevenageConaye
Louise MenschCorbyConaye
David MorrisMorecambe and LunesdaleConaye
Greg MulhollandLeeds North WestLDemno
Tessa MuntWellsLDemno
Sheryll MurraySouth East CornwallConaye
Sarah NewtonTruro and FalmouthConaye
Caroline NokesRomsey and Southampton NorthConaye
Guy OppermanHexhamConaye
John PughSouthportLDemno
Lee ScottIlford NorthConaye
Iain StewartMilton Keynes SouthConaye
Justin TomlinsonNorth SwindonConaye
Mike WeatherleyHoveConaye
Chris WhiteWarwick and LeamingtonConaye
Mark WilliamsCeredigionLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive