Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill — New Clause 16 — Review Civil Partnerships Following Introduction of Same-Sex Marriage — 20 May 2013 at 22:00

The majority of MPs voted for a review of the operation and future of civil partnerships following the introduction of same sex marriages.

MPs were considering the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill[1]. The proposed new clause[2] supported in this vote was New Clause 16 — Review of civil partnership which started:

  • The Secretary of State must arrange for the operation and future of the Civil Partnership Act 2004 in England and Wales to be reviewed

and goes on to give details of the provision.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a not-for-profit free service. However, it does cost us money to 'keep the lights on'. To do this cheaply, we get our 100% renewable electricity from Bulb - who tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six' electricity suppliers and will give us and YOU £50 credit if you switch your gas and electricity to them using our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con139 (+1 tell) 48 (+2 tell)062.3%
DUP0 7087.5%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab202 1078.7%
LDem44 (+1 tell) 0078.9%
PC2 0066.7%
SDLP3 00100.0%
Total:391 57071.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Nigel MillsAmber ValleyCon (front bench)no
Bob StewartBeckenhamCon (front bench)no
Phillip LeeBracknellCon (front bench)no
Ian Liddell-GraingerBridgwater and West SomersetCon (front bench)no
Charlotte LeslieBristol North WestCon (front bench)tellno
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no
Craig WhittakerCalder ValleyCon (front bench)no
Jonathan EvansCardiff NorthConno
John StevensonCarlisleCon (front bench)no
Dame Cheryl GillanChesham and AmershamConno
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
Martin VickersCleethorpesCon (front bench)no
Fiona BruceCongletonCon (front bench)no
Henry SmithCrawleyCon (front bench)no
Gareth JohnsonDartfordCon (front bench)no
Charlie ElphickeDoverCon (front bench)no
Chris KellyDudley SouthCon (front bench)no
Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamConno
Alec ShelbrookeElmet and RothwellConno
Matthew OffordHendonCon (front bench)no
Karl McCartneyLincolnCon (front bench)no
John WhittingdaleMaldonCon (front bench)no
Caroline SpelmanMeridenConno
Pauline LathamMid DerbyshireCon (front bench)no
David DaviesMonmouthCon (front bench)no
Glyn DaviesMontgomeryshireCon (front bench)no
David MorrisMorecambe and LunesdaleCon (front bench)no
Robert WalterNorth DorsetConno
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetCon (front bench)no
Roger GaleNorth ThanetCon (front bench)no
Andrew BridgenNorth West LeicestershireCon (front bench)no
James GrayNorth WiltshireCon (front bench)no
Marcus JonesNuneatonCon (front bench)no
Stewart JacksonPeterboroughCon (front bench)no
Rob WilsonReading EastContellno
Mark PawseyRugbyCon (front bench)no
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
Heather WheelerSouth DerbyshireCon (front bench)no
Gavin WilliamsonSouth StaffordshireConno
Robert BucklandSouth SwindonCon (front bench)no
Anne MainSt AlbansCon (front bench)no
Christopher PincherTamworthCon (front bench)no
Geoffrey Clifton-BrownThe CotswoldsCon (front bench)no
Anne McIntoshThirsk and MaltonCon (front bench)no
Peter AldousWaveneyCon (front bench)no
Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)no
Rosie CooperWest LancashireLab (minister)no
Steve BrineWinchesterCon (front bench)no
Esther McVeyWirral WestCon (front bench)no
John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Ben WallaceWyre and Preston NorthConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. We're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive