Reappointment of Ian Kennedy as Chair of Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority — 22 Oct 2014 at 19:26

The majority of MPs voted to reappoint Ian Kennedy as Chair of the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority.

The Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority (IPSA) is the body created by Parliament to independently oversee and regulate MPs’ business costs and expenses.[1]

Mr Kennedy served as the chair of the authority since it was created in 2009.[2]

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That an Humble Address be presented to Her Majesty, praying that Her Majesty will appoint Professor Sir Ian Kennedy to the office of the Chair of the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority from the end of his current term until 1 June 2016.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con185 5062.7%
DUP8 00100.0%
Independent2 00100.0%
Lab152 8062.0%
LDem32 4064.3%
PC2 0066.7%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP0 1016.7%
Total:384 18062.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Steven BakerWycombeCon (front bench)no
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
Nadine DorriesMid BedfordshireCon (front bench)no
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyCon (front bench)no
Bill WigginNorth HerefordshireConno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLab (minister)no
Fabian HamiltonLeeds North EastLab (minister)no
Helen JonesWarrington NorthLab (minister)no
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)no
Alan MealeMansfieldLab (minister)no
Ian MearnsGatesheadLab (minister)no
Joan RuddockLewisham, DeptfordLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Malcolm BruceGordonLDem (front bench)no
Stephen GilbertSt Austell and NewquayLDem (front bench)no
Greg MulhollandLeeds North WestLDem (front bench)no
Bob RussellColchesterLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive