UK's Nuclear Deterrent — Replacement of Trident Nuclear Submarines — Maintenance of Continuous At Sea Deterrence — 18 Jul 2016 at 21:50

The majority of MPs voted to support replacing the four Trident nuclear missile submarines to maintain the UK's continuous at sea nuclear deterrence posture.

The majority of MPs were also voting to support work towards multilateral disarmament.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House
  • supports the Government’s assessment in the 2015 National Security Strategy and Strategic Defence and Security Review that the UK’s independent minimum credible nuclear deterrent, based on a Continuous at Sea Deterrence posture, will remain essential to the UK's security today as it has for over 60 years, and for as long as the global security situation demands, to deter the most extreme threats to the UK's national security and way of life and that of the UK's allies;
  • supports the decision to take the necessary steps required to maintain the current posture by replacing the current Vanguard Class submarines with four Successor submarines;
  • recognises the importance of this programme to the UK’s defence industrial base and in supporting thousands of highly skilled engineering jobs;
  • notes that the Government will continue to provide annual reports to Parliament on the programme;
  • recognises that the UK remains committed to reducing its overall nuclear weapon stockpile by the mid-2020s; and
  • supports the Government’s commitment to continue work towards a safer and more stable world, pressing for key steps towards multilateral disarmament.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con322 (+2 tell) 1098.5%
DUP5 0062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 2066.7%
Lab141 47181.8%
LDem0 7087.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 52 (+2 tell)0100.0%
UKIP1 00100.0%
UUP2 00100.0%
Total:471 116191.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Angela RaynerAshton-under-LyneLab (minister)no
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Hall GreenLabno
Richard BurdenBirmingham, NorthfieldLabno
Helen GoodmanBishop AucklandLab (minister)no
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)no
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Imran HussainBradford EastLab (minister)no
Naseem ShahBradford WestLab (minister)no
Dawn ButlerBrent CentralLabno
Ruth CadburyBrentford and IsleworthLab (minister)no
Daniel ZeichnerCambridgeLab (minister)no
Jo StevensCardiff CentralLab (minister)no
Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLab (minister)no
Rupa HuqEaling Central and ActonLab (minister)both
Steve PoundEaling NorthLab (minister)no
Ian MurrayEdinburgh SouthLab (minister)no
Kate OsamorEdmontonLab (minister)no
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLab (minister)no
Tulip SiddiqHampstead and KilburnLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)no
Jon TrickettHemsworthLab (minister)no
Catherine WestHornsey and Wood GreenLab (minister)no
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLab (minister)no
Richard BurgonLeeds EastLab (minister)no
Fabian HamiltonLeeds North EastLabno
Keith VazLeicester EastLab (minister)no
Vicky FoxcroftLewisham, DeptfordLab (minister)no
John CryerLeyton and WansteadLab (minister)no
Nia GriffithLlanelliLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Jeff SmithManchester, WithingtonLab (minister)no
Alan MealeMansfieldLab (minister)no
Nick BrownNewcastle upon Tyne EastLab (minister)no
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)no
Graham AllenNottingham NorthLabno
Andrew SmithOxford EastLab (minister)no
Crispin BluntReigateCon (front bench)no
Sarah ChampionRotherhamLabno
Rebecca Long-BaileySalford and EcclesLab (minister)no
Paul BlomfieldSheffield CentralLab (minister)no
Louise HaighSheffield, HeeleyLab (minister)no
Marie RimmerSt Helens South and WhistonLab (minister)no
Carolyn HarrisSwansea EastLab (minister)no
David LammyTottenhamLab (minister)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Lisa NandyWiganLabno
Margaret GreenwoodWirral WestLab (minister)no
Rachael MaskellYork CentralLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive