House of Lords (Hereditary Peers) (Abolition of By-Elections) Bill [HL] — Committee — 23 Mar 2018 at 12:15

Moved by The Earl of Caithness

1: Before Clause 1, insert the following new Clause-“OverviewThis Act amends section 2 of the House of Lords Act 1999 to end the process of by-elections for hereditary peers, thereby making the House of Lords a wholly appointed Second Chamber.”

Moved by Lord Trefgarne

2: Clause 1, page 1, line 2, leave out subsection (1) and insert-“(1) The House of Lords Act 1999 is amended as follows.”

Moved by Lord Trefgarne

6: Clause 1, page 1, line 4, leave out subsections (2) and (3) and insert-“(2) In section 2, after subsection (4) insert-“(4A) Standing Orders relating to the filling of vacancies must provide that any party or group specified in the Standing Orders need not take up its entitlement to fill any vacancy among the people excepted from section 1, and that in this event the vacancy will be allocated to one of the other parties or groups specified in the Standing Orders, by a method specified in the Standing Orders, for that party or group to fill.””

Moved by The Earl of Caithness

10: Clause 1, page 1, line 4, leave out subsections (2) and (3) and insert-“(2) In section 2, after subsection (4) insert-“(4A) Standing Orders must provide that any vacancy must be open to any hereditary peer, and that the method used for the by-election to fill that vacancy, including the electors eligible to vote, must not be based on any party political affiliation.””

Ayes 20, Noes 111.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

All Votes Cast - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party are marked in red. Also shows which lords were ministers at the time of this vote. You can also see every eligible lord including those who did not vote in this division.

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Adams of CraigieleaLabno
Lord Addington LDem (front bench)no
Lord Ahmed Non-affiliatedno
Lord Alderdice LDemno
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchno
Baroness Andrews Lab (minister)no
Viscount Astor Conaye
Baroness Bakewell Lab (minister)no
Lord Balfe Con (front bench)no
Lord Berkeley of KnightonCrossbenchno
Lord Best Crossbenchno
Lord Blunkett Labno
Baroness Bowles of BerkhamstedLDem (front bench)no
Lord Brennan Lab (minister)no
Viscount Bridgeman Con (front bench)aye
Lord Brookman Labno
Lord Brown of Eaton-under-HeywoodJudge (front bench)no
Lord Browne of LadytonLabno
Lord Bruce of BennachieLDem (front bench)no
Lord Burns Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Butler of BrockwellCrossbench (front bench)no
The Earl of CaithnessContellaye
Lord Campbell-Savours Lab (minister)no
Lord Cashman Lab (minister)no
Viscount Chandos Labno
Lord Chidgey LDemno
Lord Colgrain Con (front bench)aye
Lord Collins of HighburyLab (minister)no
Lord Cormack Con (front bench)no
Lord Davies of OldhamLab (minister)no
Lord Desai Lab (minister)no
Lord Dholakia LDem (front bench)no
Baroness Donaghy Lab (minister)tellno
Lord Dubs Lab (minister)no
Lord Dykes LDem (front bench)no
Lord Elder Labno
The Earl of ErrollCrossbenchaye
Lord Forsyth of DrumleanCon (front bench)no
Lord Foulkes of CumnockLab (minister)no
Lord Fraser of CorriegarthCon (front bench)aye
Baroness Golding Labno
Lord Goodlad Con (front bench)no
Lord Grocott Lab (minister)no
Lord Hamilton of EpsomCon (front bench)aye
Baroness Hamwee LDem (front bench)no
Viscount Hanworth Lab (minister)no
Lord Harris of HaringeyLab (minister)no
Lord Haskel Lab (minister)no
Lord Haworth Labno
Baroness Hayter of Kentish TownLab (minister)no
Lord Hayward Conno
Baroness Healy of Primrose HillLab (minister)no
Baroness Henig Lab (minister)no
Lord Hollick Labno
Baroness Hollins Crossbenchno
Lord Holmes of RichmondConaye
Baroness Hooper Conaye
Lord Hunt of ChestertonLab (minister)no
Baroness Hussein-Ece LDem (front bench)no
Baroness Kennedy of CradleyLabno
Lord Kirkwood of KirkhopeLDem (front bench)no
Lord Lamont of LerwickCon (front bench)no
Baroness Lawrence of ClarendonLab (minister)no
Lord Lea of CrondallLabno
Lord Liddle Lab (minister)no
The Earl of LiverpoolConaye
Lord Loomba LDemno
Lord Low of DalstonCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Ludford LDem (front bench)no
Lord Mackay of ClashfernConno
Lord Mackenzie of FramwellgateNon-affiliatedno
Lord Mancroft Conaye
Lord McAvoy Lab (minister)no
Lord McColl of DulwichConno
Baroness McIntosh of HudnallLab (minister)no
Lord McKenzie of LutonLab (minister)no
Lord McNally LDemno
Baroness Meacher Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Monks Labno
The Duke of MontroseCon (front bench)aye
Lord Morris of HandsworthLab (minister)no
Lord Murphy of TorfaenLabno
Lord Naseby Con (front bench)no
Baroness O'Cathain Con (front bench)no
Lord Paddick LDem (front bench)no
Lord Palmer of Childs HillLDem (front bench)no
The Bishop of PeterboroughBishopno
Baroness Pitkeathley Lab (minister)no
Baroness Prashar Crossbenchno
Baroness Ramsay of CartvaleLabno
Baroness Randerson LDem (front bench)no
Lord Reid of CardowanLab (minister)no
Lord Rennard LDemno
Baroness Richardson of CalowCrossbenchno
Lord Robathan Conaye
Baroness Scott of Needham MarketLDem (front bench)no
Lord Selsdon Conaye
Baroness Sheehan LDem (front bench)no
Lord Sheikh Conno
Lord Sherbourne of DidsburyCon (front bench)no
Baroness Sherlock Lab (minister)no
Lord Shinkwin Conaye
Viscount Simon Lab (minister)no
Viscount Slim Crossbenchno
Baroness Smith of BasildonLab (minister)no
Lord Snape Labtellno
Lord Steel of AikwoodLDemno
Lord Stevenson of BalmacaraLab (minister)no
Lord Stirrup Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Stone of BlackheathLabno
Lord Swinfen Con (front bench)aye
Baroness Taylor of BoltonLab (minister)no
Baroness Thomas of WinchesterLDem (front bench)no
Baroness Thornton Lab (minister)no
Lord Thurlow Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Tomlinson Labno
Baroness Tonge Independent Liberal Democratno
Lord Tope LDemno
Lord Trefgarne Con (front bench)tellaye
Viscount Trenchard Conaye
Lord Triesman Lab (minister)no
Lord True Con (front bench)aye
Lord Turnberg Labno
Lord Tyler LDem (front bench)no
Baroness Uddin Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Watkins of TavistockCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Wheatcroft Conno
Baroness Wheeler Lab (minister)no
Baroness Whitaker Labno
Lord Wilson of TillyornCrossbenchno
Lord Winston Labno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive