Independent Complaints and Grievance Scheme — House of Commons Debates on Sanctions in Individual Cases — 23 Jun 2020 at 18:02

The majority of MPs voted against MPs debating sanctions in respect of individual cases arising from Parliament's system for dealing with bullying, harassment and sexual misconduct by members of the Parliamentary community.

The Independent Complaints and Grievance Scheme (ICGS) was set up to tackle bullying, harassment and sexual misconduct on the part of anyone who is or was a member of the Parliamentary community[1].

MPs were considering a motion which began:

  • That the following Standing Orders, amendments to standing orders and amendments to the Code of Conduct be made:
  • A. Independent Expert Panel
  • (1) There shall be a Panel, to be known as the Independent Expert Panel for the Independent Complaints and Grievance Scheme (the “ICGS”), whose members shall be appointed by the House in accordance with Standing Order (Appointment of Independent Expert Panel Members).
  • (2) The Panel shall consist of eight members, of whom a quorum shall be four.
  • (3) The functions of the Panel shall be:
  • (a) to determine the appropriate sanction in ICGS cases referred to it by the Parliamentary Commissioner on Standards;
  • (b) to hear appeals against the decisions of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards in respect of ICGS cases involving Members of this House;
  • (c) to hear appeals against a sanction imposed under paragraph (a);
  • ...

Section D of this motion stated:

  • D. Motions consequent on the ICGS
  • (1) A motion may be moved by a member of the House of Commons Commission to implement a sanction in respect of an individual ICGS case determined by a sub-panel of the Independent Expert Panel.
  • (2) The Speaker shall put the questions necessary to dispose of proceedings on a motion under paragraph (1) of this order not later than one hour after the commencement of such proceedings.
  • (3) Business under this order may be proceeded with until any hour, though opposed.

The amendment supported by a majority of MPs in this vote was:

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con45 235 (+2 tell)077.3%
Lab137 (+2 tell) 0068.8%
LDem11 00100.0%
PC3 00100.0%
SDLP1 0050.0%
SNP41 0085.4%
Total:239 235075.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Siobhan BaillieStroudCon (front bench)aye
Harriett BaldwinWest WorcestershireCon (front bench)aye
Aaron BellNewcastle-under-LymeCon (front bench)aye
Ben BradleyMansfieldConaye
Rob ButlerAylesburyCon (front bench)aye
Miriam CatesPenistone and StocksbridgeCon (front bench)aye
Elliot ColburnCarshalton and WallingtonCon (front bench)aye
Claire CoutinhoEast SurreyConaye
James DaviesVale of ClwydCon (front bench)aye
Ruth EdwardsRushcliffeCon (front bench)aye
Ben EverittMilton Keynes NorthCon (front bench)aye
Michael FabricantLichfieldCon (front bench)aye
Laura FarrisNewburyCon (front bench)aye
Simon FellBarrow and FurnessCon (front bench)aye
Mark GarnierWyre ForestCon (front bench)aye
Jo GideonStoke-on-Trent CentralConaye
Richard GrahamGloucesterCon (front bench)aye
Mark HarperForest of DeanConaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexCon (front bench)aye
David JonesClwyd WestCon (front bench)aye
Fay JonesBrecon and RadnorshireConaye
Alicia KearnsRutland and MeltonCon (front bench)aye
Kate KnivetonBurtonConaye
Robert LarganHigh PeakCon (front bench)aye
Pauline LathamMid DerbyshireCon (front bench)aye
Andrea LeadsomSouth NorthamptonshireConaye
Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamCon (front bench)aye
Theresa MayMaidenheadConaye
Huw MerrimanBexhill and BattleCon (front bench)aye
Maria MillerBasingstokeCon (front bench)aye
Gagan MohindraSouth West HertfordshireCon (front bench)aye
Penny MordauntPortsmouth NorthCon (front bench)aye
Holly Mumby-CroftScunthorpeConaye
David MundellDumfriesshire, Clydesdale and TweeddaleCon (front bench)aye
Lia NiciGreat GrimsbyCon (front bench)aye
Nicola RichardsWest Bromwich EastCon (front bench)aye
Angela RichardsonGuildfordConaye
David SimmondsRuislip, Northwood and PinnerCon (front bench)aye
Edward TimpsonEddisburyConaye
Thomas TugendhatTonbridge and MallingCon (front bench)aye
James WildNorth West NorfolkCon (front bench)aye
William WraggHazel GroveCon (front bench)aye
Jeremy WrightKenilworth and SouthamConaye
Jacob YoungRedcarConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive