Coronavirus Act 2020 (Review of Temporary Provisions) (No.2) — 25 Mar 2021 at 17:00

The majority of MPs voted to retain temporary arrangements connected to the coronavirus pandemic on closing buildings, restricting events and gatherings, suspending evictions, enabling greater use of video and audio technology in courts and restricting the liberty of potentially infectious persons.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That the temporary provisions of the Coronavirus Act 2020 should not yet expire

Section 98 of the Coronavirus Act 2020 was titled Six-month parliamentary review and began:

  • (1)If the House of Commons rejects a motion in the form set out in subsection (2), moved in accordance with subsection (3) by a Minister of the Crown, a Minister of the Crown must exercise the power conferred by section 90(1) so as to ensure that the relevant temporary provisions expire not later than the end of the period of 21 days beginning with the day on which the rejection takes place.
  • (2)The form of the motion is—
  • “That the temporary provisions of the Coronavirus Act 2020 should not yet expire.”
  • (3)So far as practicable, a Minister of the Crown must make arrangements for the motion mentioned in subsection (1) to be debated and voted on by the House of Commons within a period of 7 sitting days beginning immediately after each 6 month review period.
  • (4)In this section—
  • “6 month review period” means—
  • (a) the period of 6 months beginning with the day on which this Act is passed, and
  • (b) each subsequent period of 6 months,
  • ....

it appears likely this motion was in-line with this provision.

The provisions which were temporary and subject to the six-monthly approval by the House of Commons include arrangements relating to:

  • * Appointment of temporary Judicial Commissioners.
  • * Extension of time limits for retention of fingerprints and DNA profiles.
  • * Power to require information relating to food supply chains.
  • * Suspension of requirement to hold inquest with jury: England and Wales.
  • * Temporary closure of educational institutions and childcare premises.
  • * Statutory sick pay and pensions.
  • * Power to suspend port operations.
  • * Powers relating to potentially infectious persons.
  • * Powers to issue directions relating to events, gatherings and premises
  • * Courts and tribunals: use of video and audio technology
  • * Powers in relation to transportation, storage and disposal of dead bodies etc
  • * National Insurance Contributions
  • * Up-rating of working tax credit etc
  • * Local authority meetings
  • * Business improvement districts
  • * Residential tenancies: protection from eviction
  • * Business tenancies: protection from forfeiture etc
  • * Postponement of General Synod elections

See also a previous vote on the same motion from 30 September 2020.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con305 (+2 tell) 35 (+1 tell)094.0%
DUP1 70100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 1050.0%
Lab176 21099.0%
LDem0 10 (+1 tell)0100.0%
Total:483 76095.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Adam AfriyieWindsorConno
Steven BakerWycombeCon (front bench)no
Harriett BaldwinWest WorcestershireCon (front bench)no
Bob BlackmanHarrow EastCon (front bench)no
Peter BoneWellingboroughwhilst Con (front bench)no
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestCon (front bench)no
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
Geoffrey Clifton-BrownThe CotswoldsCon (front bench)no
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonConno
Richard DraxSouth DorsetCon (front bench)no
Mark FrancoisRayleigh and WickfordCon (front bench)no
Marcus FyshYeovilCon (front bench)no
Chris GreenBolton WestContellno
Mark HarperForest of DeanConno
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
David JonesClwyd WestCon (front bench)no
Pauline LathamMid DerbyshireCon (front bench)no
Jonathan LordWokingConno
Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamCon (front bench)no
Craig MackinlaySouth ThanetCon (front bench)no
Karl McCartneyLincolnCon (front bench)no
Stephen McPartlandStevenageCon (front bench)no
Esther McVeyTattonCon (front bench)no
Anne Marie MorrisNewton AbbotCon (front bench)no
John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Andrew RosindellRomfordCon (front bench)no
Henry SmithCrawleyCon (front bench)no
Julian SturdyYork OuterCon (front bench)no
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestCon (front bench)no
Robert SymsPooleCon (front bench)no
Craig TraceyNorth WarwickshireConno
Charles WalkerBroxbourneCon (front bench)no
David WarburtonSomerton and FromeConno
William WraggHazel GroveCon (front bench)no
Jim ShannonStrangfordDUP (front bench)aye
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke Newingtonwhilst Lab (front bench)no
Apsana BegumPoplar and LimehouseLab (minister)no
Ben BradshawExeterLab (minister)no
Richard BurgonLeeds EastLab (minister)no
Dawn ButlerBrent CentralLab (minister)no
Andrew GwynneDenton and ReddishLab (minister)no
Ian LaveryWansbeckLabno
Emma Lewell-BuckSouth ShieldsLab (minister)no
Clive LewisNorwich SouthLabno
Rebecca Long-BaileySalford and EcclesLab (minister)no
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)no
Ian MearnsGatesheadLab (minister)no
Kate OsamorEdmontonLab (minister)no
Kate OsborneJarrowLab (minister)no
Bell Ribeiro-AddyStreathamLab (minister)no
John SpellarWarleyLab (minister)no
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)no
Zarah SultanaCoventry SouthLab (minister)no
Jon TrickettHemsworthLabno
Derek TwiggHaltonLab (minister)no
Beth WinterCynon ValleyLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive