Deferred Divisions — Fisheries: Total Allowable Catches and Quotas 2001 — 13 Dec 2000

That this House takes note of the Unnumbered Explanatory Memorandum of 28th November relating to the fixing of fishing opportunities for 2001 and certain conditions under which they may be fished; recognises that a number of fish stocks have fallen to particularly low levels; and supports the Government's intention to sustain stocks for the future, and assist recovery of those stocks which are in danger of collapse, while negotiating the best possible fishing opportunities for UK fishermen.

The House divided: Ayes 437, Noes 86.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con2 57752.5%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab318 0076.4%
LDem35 0074.5%
PC2 0050.0%
SNP2 0033.3%
UUP0 4044.4%
Total:360 97769.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestCon (front bench)both
Damian GreenAshfordCon (front bench)both
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldCon (front bench)both
Mr James CranBeverley and HoldernessConboth
Mrs Teresa GormanBillericayConboth
John ButterfillBournemouth WestConboth
Mr Tom KingBridgwaterCon (front bench)both
Julie KirkbrideBromsgroveConboth
John BercowBuckinghamCon (front bench)both
Stephen DorrellCharnwoodConboth
Mr Stephen DayCheadleConboth
Iain Duncan SmithChingford and Woodford GreenCon (front bench)both
Sir Sydney ChapmanChipping BarnetConboth
Mr Peter BrookeCities of London and WestminsterCon (front bench)both
Ann WintertonCongletonConboth
Geoffrey Clifton-BrownCotswoldCon (front bench)both
Richard OttawayCroydon SouthCon (front bench)both
Tim BoswellDaventryCon (front bench)both
Michael AncramDevizesCon (front bench)both
Michael MatesEast HampshireConboth
Peter AinsworthEast SurreyConboth
Mr John TownendEast YorkshireConboth
Stephen O'BrienEddisburyCon (front bench)both
Eleanor LaingEpping ForestCon (front bench)both
Ian TaylorEsher and WaltonConboth
Mr Andrew RoweFaversham and Mid KentConboth
Michael JackFyldeConboth
Edward LeighGainsboroughCon (front bench)both
Mr Nick St AubynGuildfordConboth
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenCon (front bench)both
David WillettsHavantCon (front bench)both
Mr Bowen WellsHertford and StortfordConboth
Peter AtkinsonHexhamConboth
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConboth
Mr John MajorHuntingdonConboth
Michael FabricantLichfieldCon (front bench)both
Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleConboth
Nicholas WintertonMacclesfieldConboth
Theresa MayMaidenheadCon (front bench)both
John WhittingdaleMaldon and East ChelmsfordConboth
Mr Jonathan SayeedMid BedfordshireConboth
Keith SimpsonMid NorfolkCon (front bench)both
Peter LuffMid WorcestershireCon (front bench)both
Paul BeresfordMole ValleyCon (front bench)both
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestCon (front bench)both
Robert WalterNorth DorsetConboth
James ArbuthnotNorth East HampshireCon (front bench)both
Bernard JenkinNorth EssexCon (front bench)both
Mr David PriorNorth NorfolkCon (front bench)both
Roger GaleNorth ThanetCon (front bench)both
Dr Brian MawhinneyNorth West CambridgeshireConboth
George YoungNorth West HampshireConboth
James GrayNorth WiltshireConboth
John HoramOrpingtonConboth
Nigel EvansRibble ValleyCon (front bench)both
William HagueRichmond (Yorks)Con (front bench)both
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConboth
John GreenwayRyedaleConboth
Douglas HoggSleaford and North HykehamConboth
Tim YeoSouth SuffolkCon (front bench)both
Mr David MadelSouth West BedfordshireConboth
Mrs Virginia BottomleySouth West SurreyConboth
Sir David AmessSouthend WestCon (front bench)both
John MaplesStratford-on-AvonCon (front bench)both
Mr Nick HawkinsSurrey HeathConboth
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyCon (front bench)both
Angela BrowningTiverton and HonitonCon (front bench)both
Mr Archie NormanTunbridge WellsConboth
John RandallUxbridgeCon (front bench)both
Anne McIntoshVale of YorkCon (front bench)both
Sir Geoffrey Johnson SmithWealdenConaye
Patrick McLoughlinWest DerbyshireCon (front bench)both
Richard SpringWest SuffolkConaye
Michael SpicerWest WorcestershireCon (front bench)both
Mr David FaberWestburyConboth
Mr Michael TrendWindsorConboth
John RedwoodWokinghamConboth
Liam FoxWoodspringCon (front bench)both
Sir Ray WhitneyWycombeConboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive