Members' Pay (Expression of Opinion) — 5 Jul 2001 at 16:02

Amendment proposed: (a), to leave out from the second 'House' to end and insert-

'(1) the Resolution of this House of 10th July 1996 relating to Members' salaries be rescinded; and
(2) for each year starting with 1st April from 2002 onwards, the salary of a Member shall be increased by the average of the percentage increase recommended in that year by the Nurses', School Teachers', and Doctors' and Dentists' Pay Review Bodies.'-[Mr. Mullin.]

Question put, That the amendment be made:-

The House divided: Ayes 66, Noes 260.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con51 3032.9%
DUP3 0060.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab179 (+2 tell) 45 (+2 tell)055.5%
LDem24 10065.4%
PC0 2050.0%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP3 0050.0%
Total:260 66050.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Ms Oona KingBethnal Green and BowLabaye
Siôn SimonBirmingham, ErdingtonLabaye
Richard BurdenBirmingham, NorthfieldLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)aye
Brian IddonBolton South EastLabaye
Doug NaysmithBristol North WestLabaye
Nick PalmerBroxtoweLabaye
David ChaytorBury NorthLabaye
Mrs Anne CampbellCambridgeLabtellaye
Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLabaye
Jonathan R ShawChatham and AylesfordLabaye
Patsy CaltonCheadleLDemaye
Paul HolmesChesterfieldLDemaye
Piara S KhabraEaling, SouthallLabaye
Clive EffordElthamLabaye
John AustinErith and ThamesmeadLabaye
Rudi VisFinchley and Golders GreenLabaye
Anthony D WrightGreat YarmouthLabaye
David CairnsGreenock and InverclydeLabaye
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabaye
Mr Iain ColemanHammersmith and FulhamLabaye
Michael Jabez FosterHastings and RyeLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Mr Phil SawfordKetteringLabaye
Roger BerryKingswoodLabaye
Fabian HamiltonLeeds North EastLabaye
Mr Harold BestLeeds North WestLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Annette BrookeMid Dorset and North PooleLDem (front bench)aye
Colin ChallenMorley and RothwellLabaye
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestCon (front bench)aye
Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabaye
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabtellaye
Simon HughesNorth Southwark and BermondseyLDem (front bench)aye
Mike O'BrienNorth WarwickshireLabaye
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabaye
Steve WebbNorthavonLDem (front bench)aye
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabaye
Evan HarrisOxford West and AbingdonLDemaye
Ms Helen ClarkPeterboroughLabaye
Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and Canning TownLab (minister)aye
Ms Jane GriffithsReading EastLabaye
Martin SalterReading WestLabaye
Chris BryantRhonddaLabaye
Dr Jenny TongeRichmond ParkLDemaye
Sandra GidleyRomseyLDemaye
Mr Richard AllanSheffield, HallamLDem (front bench)aye
Mr Paul MarsdenShrewsbury and Atchamwhilst Labaye
Derek WyattSittingbourne and SheppeyLabaye
Mark ToddSouth DerbyshireLabaye
Ms Julia DrownSouth SwindonLabaye
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabaye
Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDem (front bench)aye
David DrewStroudLab (minister)aye
Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabaye
John RandallUxbridgeCon (front bench)aye
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabaye
Helen SouthworthWarrington SouthLabaye
Mr Paul StinchcombeWellingboroughLabaye
Mr Tim CollinsWestmorland and LonsdaleConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive