Pay for Chairmen of Select Committees — 30 Oct 2003 at 16:09

I beg to move,

That this House-

Question put:-

The House divided: Ayes 86, Noes 59.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con40 12031.9%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab39 (+2 tell) 23 (+1 tell)015.9%
LDem7 18046.3%
PC0 2050.0%
SNP0 3 (+1 tell)080.0%
Total:86 59023.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsCon (front bench)no
John MannBassetlawLab (minister)no
Mr Terry DavisBirmingham, Hodge HillLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Andrew RobathanBlabyConno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)no
Joe BentonBootleLab (minister)no
Geoffrey Clifton-BrownCotswoldCon (front bench)no
Mr Kevin HughesDoncaster NorthLabtellno
Piara S KhabraEaling, SouthallLabno
John BarrettEdinburgh WestLDemaye
Andrew MillerEllesmere Port and NestonLab (minister)no
Chris GraylingEpsom and EwellCon (front bench)no
Malcolm BruceGordonLDem (front bench)aye
Andrew DismoreHendonLabno
Peter AtkinsonHexhamConno
John CryerHornchurchLabno
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)no
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Maria EagleLiverpool, GarstonLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Tony LloydManchester CentralLabno
Alan MealeMansfieldLab (minister)no
Annette BrookeMid Dorset and North PooleLDem (front bench)aye
Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabno
Norman LambNorth NorfolkLDem (front bench)aye
Mr Martin O'NeillOchilLab (minister)no
Alistair CarmichaelOrkney and ShetlandLDem (front bench)aye
Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConno
Mr Archy KirkwoodRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDem (front bench)aye
Mr Lawrie QuinnScarborough and WhitbyLabno
David CurrySkipton and RiponConno
Sir David AmessSouthend WestCon (front bench)no
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabno
David DrewStroudLab (minister)no
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyCon (front bench)no
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Mike HallWeaver ValeLabno
David Heathcoat-AmoryWellsConno
Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDem (front bench)aye
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive