Motion to Sit in Private — 12 Nov 2010 at 09:30

The majority of MPs voted against a motion: "that the House sit in private".

It appears those who caused the motion to be moved did so in an effort to try and ensure the Sustainable Livestock Bill could make progress towards becoming law despite a small number of MPs being expected to be present to debate it.

Standing Order[1] No. 163 states once a motion to sit in private has been moved it must be "forthwith put" ie. the speaker or the chair must straight away ask MPs if they agree or not and if necessary proceed to a vote. Standing order 163 also states a motion to sit in private may only be moved once per sitting.

This motion was moved as soon as Parliament started sitting at 0930, this had the effect of preventing it being used later in the day. If the motion had been moved later in the day and less than 40 MPs had voted in the resulting division under standing order 41 the debate in progress, presumably the debate on the Sustainable Livestock Bill, would have been "stood over" ie. stopped, and resumed at the next sitting of the house.

Later in the day an attempt was made to curtail debate on the Sustainable Livestock Bill and move straight to a vote on if it ought be given a second reading, ie. if it ought continue on its path to becoming law. This vote[2], a closure motion, was declared invalid as fewer than 100 Members voted in support of the motion; the vast majority of MPs not voting. There is a minimum number of MPs required for approval of a "closure motion". The closure motion had been moved by Labour MP Robert Flello[3].

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

All Votes Cast - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party are marked in red. Also shows which MPs were ministers at the time of this vote. You can also see every eligible MP including those who did not vote in this division.

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)tellaye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)aye
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)aye
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetCon (front bench)tellaye
Tony BaldryBanburyCon (front bench)no
Gregory BarkerBexhill and BattleCon (front bench)no
Crispin BluntReigateCon (front bench)no
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestCon (front bench)no
Greg ClarkTunbridge WellsCon (front bench)no
Stephen CrabbPreseli PembrokeshireCon (front bench)no
Michael EllisNorthampton NorthCon (front bench)no
Michael FallonSevenoaksCon (front bench)no
Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterCon (front bench)no
David GaukeSouth West HertfordshireCon (front bench)no
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkCon (front bench)no
Simon HartCarmarthen West and South PembrokeshireConno
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
Nick HurdRuislip, Northwood and PinnerCon (front bench)no
Jo JohnsonOrpingtonCon (front bench)no
Daniel KawczynskiShrewsbury and AtchamConno
David LidingtonAylesburyCon (front bench)no
Patrick McLoughlinDerbyshire DalesCon (front bench)no
Brooks NewmarkBraintreeCon (front bench)no
Sarah NewtonTruro and FalmouthCon (front bench)no
James PaiceSouth East CambridgeshireCon (front bench)no
John PenroseWeston-Super-MareCon (front bench)no
John RandallUxbridge and South RuislipCon (front bench)no
Mark RecklessRochester and StroodCon (front bench)no
Julian SmithSkipton and RiponCon (front bench)no
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)no
Shailesh VaraNorth West CambridgeshireCon (front bench)no
Jeremy WrightKenilworth and SouthamCon (front bench)no
Ian Paisley JnrNorth AntrimDUP (front bench)no
Caroline LucasBrighton, PavilionGreen (front bench)no
Heidi AlexanderLewisham EastLab (minister)no
Rushanara AliBethnal Green and BowLab (minister)no
William BainGlasgow North EastLab (minister)no
Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLab (minister)no
Lyn BrownWest HamLab (minister)no
Martin CatonGowerLab (minister)no
Vernon CoakerGedlingLab (minister)no
Margaret CurranGlasgow EastLab (minister)no
Thomas DochertyDunfermline and West FifeLab (minister)no
Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and LimehouseLab (minister)no
Rob FlelloStoke-on-Trent SouthLab (minister)tellno
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabno
Meg HillierHackney South and ShoreditchLab (minister)no
Tristram HuntStoke-on-Trent CentralLabno
Graham JonesHyndburnLab (minister)no
David LammyTottenhamLab (minister)no
Kerry McCarthyBristol EastLab (minister)no
Alison McGovernWirral SouthLab (minister)no
Graeme MorriceLivingstonLabno
Andrew SmithOxford EastLabno
John SpellarWarleyLab (minister)no
Joan WalleyStoke-on-Trent NorthLab (minister)tellno
Chris WilliamsonDerby NorthLab (minister)no
David WrightTelfordLab (minister)no
Norman BakerLewesLDem (front bench)no
Annette BrookeMid Dorset and North PooleLDem (front bench)no
Paul BurstowSutton and CheamLDem (front bench)no
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDem (front bench)no
Martin HorwoodCheltenhamLDemno
Alan ReidArgyll and ButeLDem (front bench)no
Steve WebbThornbury and YateLDem (front bench)no
Mark DurkanFoyleSDLP (front bench)no
Eilidh WhitefordBanff and BuchanSNP (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive