Comparison of Divisions: Health and Social Care (Community Health and Standards) Bill — Clause 1 — NHS foundation trusts — 19 Nov 2003 at 16:45 with Division No. 388 on the same day at 26:00

(Swap the two divisions around).

Vote (a) : Health and Social Care (Community Health and Standards) Bill — Clause 1 — NHS foundation trusts - 19 Nov 2003 at 16:45 - Division No. 381

The majority of MPs voted in favour of the introduction of NHS foundation trusts; bodies with a degree of financial and managerial independence from the Department of Health.

The Aye-voters successfully rejected a Lords wrecking amendment.

The motion being voted on was:

  • That this House disagrees with the Lords in the said amendment:

The Lords amendment in question, No. 1, stated leave out clause 1

Clause 1 defines "NHS foundation trusts".

Shortly after the division there were several points of order noting that Scottish MPs' votes were required to pass the bill, but that the bill only affects England and Wales.

Vote (b) : Health and Social Care (Community Health and Standards) Bill — Clause 1 — NHS Foundation Trusts - 19 Nov 2003 at 26:00 - Division No. 388

The Aye-voters struck down the Lords' wrecking amendment to the Health and Social Care (Community Health and Standards) Bill, which had just been introduced a second time during their debate.

The Lords' amendment would have removed Clause 1 from the Bill, which refers to Schedule 1 which lays out the structure of the constitution of a Foundation Hospital.

The original striking out of the same Lords amendment happened earlier in the day in Division 381. The comparison of these two votes is available at this page.

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Difference in Votes - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote on Motion (a) differed from their vote on Motion (b). You can also see just opposite votes between these two divisions, or simply all the votes.

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote (a) | Vote (b)

NameConstituencyPartyVote (a)Vote (b)
Mr James CranBeverley and HoldernessConno absent
David Heathcoat-AmoryWellsConno absent
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsCon (front bench)no absent
Iris RobinsonStrangfordDUPno absent
Peter RobinsonBelfast EastDUPno absent
George GallowayGlasgow Kelvinwhilst Independentno absent
Martin SmythBelfast Southwhilst Independent Ulster Unionistno absent
Tony BlairSedgefieldLab (minister)aye absent
Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLabaye absent
Dr Lynda ClarkEdinburgh PentlandsLab (minister)aye absent
Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLab (minister)aye absent
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabaye absent
Robin CookLivingstonLabaye absent
Ms Jean CorstonBristol EastLab (minister)aye absent
John CummingsEasingtonLabaye absent
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabaye absent
Dr Jim MarshallLeicester SouthLabaye absent
Alun MichaelCardiff South and PenarthLab (minister)aye absent
Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLab (minister)aye absent
Geoffrey RobinsonCoventry North WestLabaye absent
Barry SheermanHuddersfieldLab (minister)aye absent
Jacqui SmithRedditchLab (minister)aye absent
Don TouhigIslwynLab (minister)aye absent
David WinnickWalsall NorthLab (minister)aye absent
Frank CookStockton NorthLabno aye
Mrs Anne PickingEast LothianLabno aye
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno absent
John AustinErith and ThamesmeadLabno absent
Roger BerryKingswoodLabno absent
Mr Harold BestLeeds North WestLabno absent
Martin CatonGowerLab (minister)no absent
Mr Iain ColemanHammersmith and FulhamLabno absent
Ms Julia DrownSouth SwindonLabno absent
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabno absent
Clive EffordElthamLab (minister)no absent
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)no absent
Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLab (minister)no absent
Doug HendersonNewcastle upon Tyne NorthLabno absent
Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabno absent
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabno absent
Helen JonesWarrington NorthLab (minister)no absent
Tony LloydManchester CentralLabno absent
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabno absent
Chris McCaffertyCalder ValleyLabno absent
George MudieLeeds EastLab (minister)no absent
Doug NaysmithBristol North WestLabno absent
Albert OwenYnys MônLab (minister)no absent
Gordon PrenticePendleLabno absent
Ken PurchaseWolverhampton North EastLabno absent
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabno absent
Joan WalleyStoke-on-Trent NorthLab (minister)no absent
Betty WilliamsConwyLabno absent
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabboth both
Mr Huw EdwardsMonmouthLababsent aye
Mr John LyonsStrathkelvin and BearsdenLababsent aye
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLababsent aye
Paul FarrellyNewcastle-under-LymeLababsent no
John BarrettEdinburgh WestLDemno absent
Rt Hon David TrimbleUpper BannUUP (front bench)no absent

Division Similarity Ratio

The measure of similarity between these two divisions is a calculation based on a comparison of their votes.

There were 659 MPs who could have voted in both of these divisions, and 535 voted the same way, with 2 voting in opposite ways. There were 66 MPs who didn't vote in either division, and 56 who voted in only one of them.

We invert the vote on the second division if it makes the distance closer (since the meaning of 'Aye' and 'No' are often interchangeable depending on how the question was put). In this case, they line up the same way. An 's vote in in only one of the divisions contributes a factor of 0.2 to the distance. The calculation runs as follows:

ratio =
([same-votes] + [differing-votes] + 0.2x[abstain-in-one])
(535 + 2 + 0.2x56)
= 0.976 = 97.6 %.

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive