Northern Ireland (Executive Formation and Exercise of Functions) Bill — New Clause 7 — Equal Rights for People of Northern Ireland — 24 Oct 2018 at 19:01

The majority of MPs voted to require the UK Government to issue guidance to to senior officers of all Northern Ireland departments on the subject of human rights, particularly in the context of abortion law.

MPs were considering the Northern Ireland (Executive Formation and Exercise of Functions) Bill[1].

The proposed new clause supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was titled: Equal rights for people of Northern Ireland (No. 2) and stated:

  • (1) In the absence of Northern Ireland Ministers to address the matters identified by recent, current and future court proceedings in relation to the human rights of the people of Northern Ireland, the Secretary of State must issue guidance to senior officers of all Northern Ireland departments which will specify how to exercise their functions in relation to—
  • (a) the incompatibility of the human rights of the people of Northern Ireland with the continued enforcement of sections 58 and 59 of the Offences against the Person Act 1861 with the Human Rights Act 1998, and
  • (b) the incompatibility of the human rights of the people of Northern Ireland with the continued enforcement of section 13(e) of the Matrimonial Causes (Northern Ireland) Order 1978 where they pertain to the provision and management of public services in Northern Ireland.
  • (2) The Secretary of State shall report guidance under this section on a quarterly basis to the House of Commons and set out her plans to address the impact of the absence of Northern Ireland Ministers on human rights obligations within three months of the day on which this Act is passed.”

The new clause which was supported in this vote was accompanied by the following explanatory statement:

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con43 100 (+2 tell)246.5%
DUP0 9090.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent1 0014.3%
Lab147 (+2 tell) 3159.5%
LDem8 0066.7%
PC4 00100.0%
Total:204 112353.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Heidi AllenSouth Cambridgeshirewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Stuart AndrewPudseyCon (front bench)aye
Victoria AtkinsLouth and HorncastleCon (front bench)aye
Crispin BluntReigateConaye
Nicholas BolesGrantham and Stamfordwhilst Conaye
Alistair BurtNorth East Bedfordshirewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Greg ClarkTunbridge Wellswhilst Con (front bench)aye
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Damian CollinsFolkestone and HytheCon (front bench)aye
Tracey CrouchChatham and AylesfordCon (front bench)aye
Caroline DinenageGosportCon (front bench)aye
James DuddridgeRochford and Southend EastCon (front bench)aye
Michael FabricantLichfieldCon (front bench)aye
George FreemanMid NorfolkConaye
Mike FreerFinchley and Golders GreenCon (front bench)aye
Mary GlindonNorth TynesideLab (minister)no
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkCon (front bench)aye
Luke GrahamOchil and South PerthshireCon (front bench)aye
Helen GrantMaidstone and The WealdCon (front bench)aye
Justine GreeningPutneywhilst Conaye
Luke HallThornbury and YateCon (front bench)aye
James HeappeyWellsConaye
Mark HendrickPrestonLab (minister)both
Margot JamesStourbridgewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamCon (front bench)aye
Kit MalthouseNorth West HampshireCon (front bench)aye
Rachael MaskellYork CentralLab (minister)no
Paul MastertonEast RenfrewshireConaye
Huw MerrimanBexhill and BattleCon (front bench)aye
Nigel MillsAmber ValleyCon (front bench)both
Anne MiltonGuildfordwhilst Con (front bench)aye
Penny MordauntPortsmouth NorthCon (front bench)aye
Andrew MurrisonSouth West WiltshireCon (front bench)both
Caroline NokesRomsey and Southampton Northwhilst Con (front bench)aye
Fiona OnasanyaPeterboroughwhilst Lab (front bench)no
John PenroseWeston-Super-MareConaye
Daniel PoulterCentral Suffolk and North IpswichCon (front bench)aye
Will QuinceColchesterConaye
Amber RuddHastings and Ryewhilst Conaye
Chris SkidmoreKingswoodCon (front bench)aye
Henry SmithCrawleyCon (front bench)aye
Anna SoubryBroxtowewhilst Conaye
Andrew StephensonPendleCon (front bench)aye
Justin TomlinsonNorth SwindonCon (front bench)aye
Thomas TugendhatTonbridge and MallingCon (front bench)aye
Ed VaizeyWantagewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Helen WhatelyFaversham and Mid KentCon (front bench)aye
Gavin WilliamsonSouth StaffordshireCon (front bench)aye
Sarah WollastonTotneswhilst Con (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive