Trident Replacement — Maintain Nuclear Deterrent Beyond Existing System — 14 Mar 2007 at 18:53

The majority of MPs voted to maintain the UK's minimum strategic nuclear deterrent beyond the life of the existing system.

The majority of MPs voted for the motion:[1]

  • This House
  • supports the Government's decisions, as set out in the White Paper The Future of the United Kingdom's Nuclear Deterrent (Cm 6994),[2] to take the steps necessary to maintain the UK's minimum strategic nuclear deterrent beyond the life of the existing system and to take further steps towards meeting the UK's disarmament responsibilities under Article VI of the Non-Proliferation Treaty.[3]

This followed a previous vote against asserting that the case was "not yet proven",[4] and was recognized as Parliamentary authorization for the development of a new generation of submarines and launch vehicles for the deployment of ballistic nuclear weapons against targets unknown.[5][6]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con173 0088.3%
DUP5 0055.6%
Independent0 20100.0%
Independent Labour0 10100.0%
Lab230 (+2 tell) 88 (+1 tell)191.5%
LDem0 56 (+1 tell)090.5%
PC0 30100.0%
Respect0 10100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 60100.0%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:408 160190.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Frank DoranAberdeen NorthLabno
Anne BeggAberdeen SouthLabno
David HeyesAshton-under-LyneLabno
Sandra OsborneAyr, Carrick and CumnockLabno
Jeff EnnisBarnsley East and MexboroughLabboth
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno
Patrick HallBedfordLabno
Richard BurdenBirmingham, NorthfieldLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabno
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Joe BentonBootleLabno
Marsha SinghBradford WestLabno
Dawn ButlerBrent SouthLabno
Desmond TurnerBrighton, KemptownLabno
David LepperBrighton, PavilionLabno
Doug NaysmithBristol North WestLabno
David ChaytorBury NorthLabno
Chris McCaffertyCalder ValleyLabno
Julie MorganCardiff NorthLabno
Betty WilliamsConwyLabno
Jon CruddasDagenhamLabno
Gwyn ProsserDoverLabno
Jim McGovernDundee WestLabno
Steve PoundEaling NorthLabno
Ian StewartEcclesLabno
Gavin StrangEdinburgh EastLabno
Mark LazarowiczEdinburgh North and LeithLabno
Nigel GriffithsEdinburgh SouthLabno
Colin BurgonElmetLabno
John AustinErith and ThamesmeadLabno
Rudi VisFinchley and Golders GreenLabno
Mohammad SarwarGlasgow CentralLabno
David MarshallGlasgow EastLabno
Ann McKechinGlasgow NorthLabno
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLabno
Martin CatonGowerLabno
Anthony D WrightGreat YarmouthLabno
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Linda RiordanHalifaxLabno
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabno
Michael Jabez FosterHastings and RyeLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Jon TrickettHemsworthLabno
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
Frank DobsonHolborn and St PancrasLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Emily ThornberryIslington South and FinsburyLabno
Ann CryerKeighleyLabno
Roger BerryKingswoodLabno
Fabian HamiltonLeeds North EastLabno
Peter SoulsbyLeicester SouthLabno
Joan RuddockLewisham, DeptfordLabno
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabno
Michael ConnartyLinlithgow and East FalkirkLabno
Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabno
Robert WareingLiverpool, West Derbywhilst Labno
Jim DevineLivingstonLabno
Nia GriffithLlanelliLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Tony LloydManchester CentralLabno
Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLabno
Alan MealeMansfieldLabno
Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabno
David HamiltonMidlothianLabno
Colin ChallenMorley and RothwellLabno
Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabno
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabno
Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLabno
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabtellno
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Michael MeacherOldham West and RoytonLabno
Andrew SmithOxford EastLabno
Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Paul TruswellPudseyLabno
John GroganSelbyLabno
Frank CookStockton NorthLabno
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabno
Joan WalleyStoke-on-Trent NorthLabno
David DrewStroudLabno
Bill EtheringtonSunderland NorthLabno
Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabno
Siân JamesSwansea EastLabno
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
David WinnickWalsall NorthLabno
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabno
Ken PurchaseWolverhampton North EastLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive