Business of the House — Backbench Business Committee — 15 Jun 2010 at 21:03

The majority of MPs voted against an amendment which would have meant MPs elected to the Backbench Business Committee would, unless replaced, remain members of that committee for the remainder of the Parliament (until the next general election) rather than just until the end of the Session.

The text of the original motion stated:

"The chair and other members of the committee shall continue as members of the committee for the remainder of the Session in which they are elected unless replaced under the provisions of Standing Order No. (Election of Backbench Business Committee)."

The subject of the vote was a proposal to change the word Session to Parliament in the text above.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con188 (+2 tell) 75 (+1 tell)086.9%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab58 54 (+1 tell)043.8%
LDem17 31084.2%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 60100.0%
Total:263 171069.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Pamela NashAirdrie and ShottsLabaye
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestCon (front bench)aye
Nigel MillsAmber ValleyConaye
Alan ReidArgyll and ButeLDemno
Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabaye
John MannBassetlawLab (minister)aye
Jane EllisonBatterseaConaye
Bob StewartBeckenhamConaye
Michael MooreBerwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkLDem (front bench)no
Graham StuartBeverley and HoldernessCon (front bench)aye
Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLabaye
Richard BurdenBirmingham, NorthfieldLab (minister)aye
Helen GoodmanBishop AucklandLab (minister)aye
Julie HillingBolton WestLabaye
Madeleine MoonBridgendLab (minister)aye
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConaye
Simon KirbyBrighton, KemptownConaye
Charlotte LeslieBristol North WestConaye
Charles WalkerBroxbourneCon (front bench)aye
Gordon BirtwistleBurnleyLDemno
David NuttallBury NorthConaye
Craig WhittakerCalder ValleyConaye
Julian BrazierCanterburyConaye
Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLab (minister)aye
John StevensonCarlisleConaye
Mel StrideCentral DevonConaye
Daniel PoulterCentral Suffolk and North IpswichConaye
Mark HunterCheadleLDem (front bench)no
Toby PerkinsChesterfieldLabaye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)aye
Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterConaye
Stephen MosleyCity of ChesterConaye
Douglas CarswellClactonConaye
Susan Elan JonesClwyd SouthLabaye
Louise MenschCorbyConaye
Geoffrey RobinsonCoventry North WestLabaye
Gavin BarwellCroydon CentralConaye
Malcolm WicksCroydon NorthLabaye
Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLabaye
Chris Heaton-HarrisDaventryConaye
David HansonDelynLab (minister)aye
Chris WilliamsonDerby NorthLabaye
Simon ReevellDewsburyConaye
Charlie ElphickeDoverConaye
Chris KellyDudley SouthConaye
Damian HindsEast HampshireConaye
Christopher HuhneEastleighLDemno
Andrew LoveEdmontonLab (minister)aye
Andrew MillerEllesmere Port and NestonLab (minister)aye
Edward LeighGainsboroughConaye
Tom HarrisGlasgow SouthLabaye
Lindsay RoyGlenrothesLab (minister)aye
Linda RiordanHalifaxLabaye
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConaye
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexCon (front bench)aye
Andrew StunellHazel GroveLDem (front bench)no
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConaye
Lynne FeatherstoneHornsey and Wood GreenLDem (front bench)no
Mike WeatherleyHoveConaye
Mike GapesIlford SouthLab (minister)aye
Danny AlexanderInverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyLDemno
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightConaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Emily ThornberryIslington South and FinsburyLab (minister)aye
Philip HolloboneKetteringConaye
Hilary BennLeeds CentralLab (minister)aye
Peter SoulsbyLeicester SouthLabaye
Liz KendallLeicester WestLabaye
Norman BakerLewesLDem (front bench)no
Karl McCartneyLincolnConaye
Michael ConnartyLinlithgow and East FalkirkLabaye
Stephen TwiggLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Nicky MorganLoughboroughConaye
Gavin ShukerLuton SouthLabaye
John WhittingdaleMaldonCon (front bench)aye
George HollingberyMeon ValleyConaye
George FreemanMid NorfolkConaye
David HamiltonMidlothianLab (minister)aye
Mark LancasterMilton Keynes NorthConaye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastConaye
Patrick MercerNewarkConaye
Catherine McKinnellNewcastle upon Tyne NorthLabaye
Anne Marie MorrisNewton AbbotConaye
Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLabaye
Natascha EngelNorth East DerbyshireLabaye
James ArbuthnotNorth East HampshireCon (front bench)aye
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetConaye
Norman LambNorth NorfolkLDem (front bench)no
Justin TomlinsonNorth SwindonConaye
Mary GlindonNorth TynesideLabaye
James GrayNorth WiltshireConaye
Brian BinleyNorthampton SouthCon (front bench)aye
Chris LeslieNottingham EastLabaye
Graham AllenNottingham NorthLab (minister)aye
Michael MeacherOldham West and RoytonLabtellaye
Alistair CarmichaelOrkney and ShetlandLDem (front bench)no
Andrew SmithOxford EastLabaye
Andrew StephensonPendleConaye
Stewart JacksonPeterboroughConaye
Robert SymsPooleConaye
Mark HendrickPrestonLabaye
Chris BryantRhonddaLab (minister)aye
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkConaye
Mark RecklessRochester and StroodConaye
Andrew RosindellRomfordConaye
Nicholas DakinScunthorpeLabaye
Paul BlomfieldSheffield CentralLabaye
Clive BettsSheffield South EastLab (minister)aye
Meg MunnSheffield, HeeleyLabaye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)aye
Lorely BurtSolihullLDem (front bench)no
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDem (front bench)no
Richard BaconSouth NorfolkCon (front bench)aye
Tim YeoSouth SuffolkCon (front bench)aye
Robert BucklandSouth SwindonConaye
Elizabeth TrussSouth West NorfolkConaye
Alan WhiteheadSouthampton, TestLab (minister)aye
David AmessSouthend WestCon (front bench)aye
Anne MainSt AlbansConaye
Jeremy LefroyStaffordConaye
Jonathan ReynoldsStalybridge and HydeLabaye
Joan WalleyStoke-on-Trent NorthLab (minister)aye
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)aye
Chuka UmunnaStreathamLabaye
Paul BurstowSutton and CheamLDem (front bench)no
Geraint DaviesSwansea WestLabaye
Christopher PincherTamworthConaye
Jeremy BrowneTaunton DeaneLDem (front bench)no
Geoffrey Clifton-BrownThe CotswoldsConaye
Steve WebbThornbury and YateLDem (front bench)no
Neil ParishTiverton and HonitonConaye
Sarah WollastonTotnesConaye
David MowatWarrington SouthConaye
Peter AldousWaveneyConaye
Graham EvansWeaver ValeConaye
Peter BoneWellingboroughContellaye
Tessa MuntWellsLDemno
Adrian BaileyWest Bromwich WestLab (minister)aye
Harriett BaldwinWest WorcestershireConaye
Alison McGovernWirral SouthLabaye
John RedwoodWokinghamConaye
Robin WalkerWorcesterConaye
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConaye
Ian LucasWrexhamLab (minister)aye
Steven BakerWycombeConaye
Mark GarnierWyre ForestConaye
Albert OwenYnys MônLabaye
Hugh BayleyYork CentralLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

TWe're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive