Comprehensive Economic Trade Agreement (CETA) Between the European Union and Canada — 8 Feb 2017 at 20:51

The majority of MPs voted to say the House of Commons had considered a trade agreement between the European Union and Canada[1] to:

  • lower customs duties and tariffs and reduce other technical and administrative barriers to trade between the EU and Canada
  • seek to protect human, animal and plant life or health while facilitating trade;
  • seek to open up investment between the EU and Canada
  • enable certain professionals to more easily travel between the EU and Canada, and stay temporarily.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House has considered European Union Documents No. 10968/16 and Addenda 1 to 16, a Proposal for a Council Decision on the signing of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement between Canada and the European Union and its Member States, No. 10969/16 and Addenda 1 to 16, a Proposal for a Council Decision on the provisional application of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement between Canada and the European Union and its Member States, and No. 10970/16 and Addenda 1 to 16, a Proposal for a Council Decision on the conclusion of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement between Canada and the European Union and its Member States.

It is possible that those voting for the motion were indicating support for the trade agreement. Those voting against could be indicating they would like to see more time given to discussing the matter.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con313 0095.1%
DUP7 0087.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 20100.0%
Lab86 68067.0%
LDem0 000.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP1 20100.0%
SNP0 50092.6%
UUP2 00100.0%
Total:410 126083.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Gloria De PieroAshfieldLabno
Alasdair McDonnellBelfast SouthSDLP (front bench)aye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)no
Helen GoodmanBishop AucklandLab (minister)no
Kate HollernBlackburnLab (minister)no
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)no
Nick SmithBlaenau GwentLab (minister)no
David AndersonBlaydonLab (minister)no
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Yasmin QureshiBolton South EastLab (minister)no
Imran HussainBradford EastLab (minister)no
Naseem ShahBradford WestLab (minister)no
Dawn ButlerBrent CentralLabno
Barry GardinerBrent NorthLab (minister)no
Kerry McCarthyBristol EastLab (minister)no
Thangam DebbonaireBristol WestLab (minister)no
Daniel ZeichnerCambridgeLab (minister)no
Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLab (minister)no
Jim CunninghamCoventry SouthLab (minister)no
Margaret BeckettDerby SouthLab (minister)no
Helen HayesDulwich and West NorwoodLab (minister)no
Virendra SharmaEaling, SouthallLab (minister)no
Kate OsamorEdmontonLab (minister)no
Justin MaddersEllesmere Port and NestonLab (minister)no
Clive EffordElthamLab (minister)no
Ian MearnsGatesheadLab (minister)no
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLab (minister)no
Meg HillierHackney South and ShoreditchLab (minister)no
Derek TwiggHaltonLab (minister)no
Gareth ThomasHarrow WestLab (minister)no
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)no
Liz McInnesHeywood and MiddletonLab (minister)no
Catherine WestHornsey and Wood GreenLab (minister)no
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLab (minister)no
Stephen HepburnJarrowLab (minister)no
Karl TurnerKingston upon Hull EastLab (minister)no
Cat SmithLancaster and FleetwoodLab (minister)no
Richard BurgonLeeds EastLab (minister)no
Keith VazLeicester EastLab (minister)no
Steve RotheramLiverpool, WaltonLabno
Stephen TwiggLiverpool, West DerbyLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Gerald JonesMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLab (minister)no
Christina ReesNeathLab (minister)no
Chi OnwurahNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLab (minister)no
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)no
Mary GlindonNorth TynesideLab (minister)no
Debbie AbrahamsOldham East and SaddleworthLab (minister)no
Andrew SmithOxford EastLab (minister)no
Rebecca Long-BaileySalford and EcclesLab (minister)no
Bill EstersonSefton CentralLab (minister)no
Gill FurnissSheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLab (minister)no
Fiona MactaggartSloughLab (minister)no
Emma Lewell-BuckSouth ShieldsLab (minister)no
Alan WhiteheadSouthampton, TestLab (minister)no
Marie RimmerSt Helens South and WhistonLab (minister)no
Alex CunninghamStockton NorthLab (minister)no
Rob FlelloStoke-on-Trent SouthLab (minister)no
Geraint DaviesSwansea WestLab (minister)no
Nick Thomas-SymondsTorfaenLab (minister)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Ian LaveryWansbeckLab (minister)no
Rosie CooperWest LancashireLab (minister)no
Margaret GreenwoodWirral WestLab (minister)no
Rob MarrisWolverhampton South WestLab (minister)no
Sue HaymanWorkingtonLab (minister)no
Albert OwenYnys MônLab (minister)no
Rachael MaskellYork CentralLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive