European Union (Withdrawal) (No. 5) Bill — Clause 1 — Arrangements for Moving a Motion on Seeking to Delay the UK Leaving the EU — 8 Apr 2019 at 22:00

The majority of MPs voted for a little extra flexibility surrounding the moving of a motion in the House of Commons on a seeking delay to the UK leaving the EU.

The majority of MPs voted to allow any minister, rather than just the Prime Minister, to move a motion on if to seek to delay the United Kingdom leaving the European Union; and to allow the motion to be put either on the day after the Act receives Royal Assent or on the day after that.

MPs were considering the European Union (Withdrawal) (No. 5) Bill[1].

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House agrees with Lords amendments 2 and 3.

Lords amendment 2 stated[2]:

  • Page 1, line 2, after “Assent” insert “or on the day after that day”

This amendment impacted clause 1(1) of the Bill and introduced an extra day of flexibility over when the motion in clause 1(2) is be put before MPs in the House of Commons. That motion stated:

  • “That this House agrees for the purposes of [ section 1 of the European Union

(Withdrawal) Act 2019] to the Prime Minister seeking an extension of the period specified in Article 50(3) of the Treaty on European Union to a period ending

on […]”

Lords amendment 3 stated[2]:

  • Page 1, line 2, leave out “the Prime Minister” and insert “a Minister of the Crown”

This amendment also impacted clause 1(1) of the Bill and permitted any Minister to move the motion set out in clause 1(2).

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con118 (+2 tell) 71 (+2 tell)061.7%
DUP0 100100.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent18 0081.8%
Lab210 1085.8%
LDem11 00100.0%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP34 0097.1%
Total:396 82075.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Ross ThomsonAberdeen SouthConno
Nigel MillsAmber ValleyConno
Bob StewartBeckenhamConno
Anne-Marie TrevelyanBerwick-upon-TweedConno
Chris GreenBolton WestConno
Conor BurnsBournemouth WestConno
Andrew GriffithsBurtonConno
Dame Cheryl GillanChesham and AmershamConno
Iain Duncan SmithChingford and Woodford GreenConno
Theresa VilliersChipping BarnetConno
Martin VickersCleethorpesConno
David JonesClwyd WestConno
Tom PursgloveCorbyConno
Henry SmithCrawleyConno
Charlie ElphickeDoverwhilst Conno
Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamConno
Suella BravermanFarehamConno
Mark HarperForest of DeanConno
Adam HollowayGraveshamConno
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Bob BlackmanHarrow EastConno
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexConno
William WraggHazel GroveConno
Julia LopezHornchurch and UpminsterConno
Philip HolloboneKetteringConno
Maria CaulfieldLewesConno
Michael FabricantLichfieldConno
John WhittingdaleMaldonConno
Ben BradleyMansfieldConno
Pauline LathamMid DerbyshireConno
Michael TomlinsonMid Dorset and North PooleConno
Simon ClarkeMiddlesbrough South and East ClevelandConno
Julian LewisNew Forest EastConno
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestConno
Anne Marie MorrisNewton AbbotConno
Scott MannNorth CornwallConno
Lee RowleyNorth East DerbyshireConno
Ranil JayawardenaNorth East HampshireConno
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetConno
Bill WigginNorth HerefordshireConno
Owen PatersonNorth ShropshireConno
Craig TraceyNorth WarwickshireConno
Shailesh VaraNorth West CambridgeshireConno
Andrew BridgenNorth West LeicestershireConno
James GrayNorth WiltshireConno
Andrew LewerNorthampton SouthConno
Robert SymsPooleConno
Mark FrancoisRayleigh and WickfordConno
Nigel EvansRibble ValleyConno
James DuddridgeRochford and Southend EastConno
Andrew RosindellRomfordConno
Gordon HendersonSittingbourne and SheppeyConno
Richard DraxSouth DorsetContellno
Sheryll MurraySouth East CornwallConno
Craig MackinlaySouth ThanetContellno
Royston SmithSouthampton, ItchenConno
Sir David AmessSouthend WestConno
Damien MooreSouthportConno
Steve DoubleSt Austell and NewquayConno
Derek ThomasSt IvesConno
Bill CashStoneConno
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyConno
Geoffrey Clifton-BrownThe CotswoldsConno
Mark PritchardThe WrekinConno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Eddie HughesWalsall NorthConno
Peter BoneWellingboroughConno
Adam AfriyieWindsorConno
Priti PatelWithamConno
Robert CourtsWitneyConno
Jonathan LordWokingConno
John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Steven BakerWycombeConno
Marcus FyshYeovilConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive