Health Protection (Coronavirus, Restrictions) (Entry to Venues and Events) (England) Regulations 2021 (SI, 2021, No. 1416) — 14 Dec 2021 at 18:20

The majority of MPs voted to restrict access to certain venues and events with large crowds, mixing and close contact to those who either are fully vaccinated against COVID-19, or have a negative result from within the previous 48 hours, or have a medical exemption from vaccination or through participation in a clinical trial.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

Protests were to be exempt from the proposed restrictions.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con225 (+2 tell) 98 (+2 tell)190.6%
DUP0 6075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 2040.0%
Lab142 8075.4%
LDem0 10083.3%
SDLP1 0050.0%
Total:368 125184.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestCon (front bench)no
Lee AndersonAshfieldwhilst Conno
Damian GreenAshfordCon (front bench)no
John BaronBasildon and BillericayConno
Brendan Clarke-SmithBassetlawCon (front bench)no
Gary SambrookBirmingham, NorthfieldCon (front bench)no
Dehenna DavisonBishop AucklandCon (front bench)no
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)no
Scott BentonBlackpool Southwhilst Con (front bench)no
Mark LoganBolton North EastCon (front bench)no
Chris GreenBolton WestConno
Luke EvansBosworthCon (front bench)both
Tobias EllwoodBournemouth EastCon (front bench)no
Dawn ButlerBrent CentralLab (minister)no
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleCon (front bench)no
Bob NeillBromley and ChislehurstCon (front bench)no
Charles WalkerBroxbourneCon (front bench)no
Greg SmithBuckinghamCon (front bench)no
Christian WakefordBury Southwhilst Con (front bench)no
John StevensonCarlisleCon (front bench)no
Tracey CrouchChatham and AylesfordConno
Iain Duncan SmithChingford and Woodford GreenConno
Theresa VilliersChipping BarnetCon (front bench)no
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
Giles WatlingClactonCon (front bench)no
David JonesClwyd WestCon (front bench)no
Henry SmithCrawleyCon (front bench)no
Simon JuppEast DevonCon (front bench)no
Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamCon (front bench)no
Greg KnightEast YorkshireCon (front bench)no
Chris GraylingEpsom and EwellConno
Mark HarperForest of DeanConno
Edward LeighGainsboroughCon (front bench)no
Tom RandallGedlingCon (front bench)no
Adam HollowayGraveshamCon (front bench)no
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke Newingtonwhilst Lab (front bench)no
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Robert HalfonHarlowCon (front bench)no
Bob BlackmanHarrow EastCon (front bench)no
William WraggHazel GroveCon (front bench)no
Mike PenningHemel HempsteadConno
Matthew OffordHendonCon (front bench)no
Robert LarganHigh PeakCon (front bench)no
Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonConno
Tom HuntIpswichCon (front bench)no
Bob SeelyIsle of WightCon (front bench)no
Robbie MooreKeighleyCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)tellno
James GrundyLeighCon (front bench)no
Karl McCartneyLincolnCon (front bench)no
Ben BradleyMansfieldConno
Pauline LathamMid DerbyshireCon (front bench)no
Julian LewisNew Forest Eastwhilst Con (front bench)no
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestCon (front bench)no
Anne Marie MorrisNewton AbbotCon (front bench)no
Richard FullerNorth East BedfordshireCon (front bench)no
Liam FoxNorth SomersetConno
Craig TraceyNorth WarwickshireConno
Andrew BridgenNorth West Leicestershirewhilst Conno
Andrew LewerNorthampton SouthCon (front bench)no
Clive LewisNorwich SouthLabno
Louie FrenchOld Bexley and SidcupConno
Miriam CatesPenistone and StocksbridgeCon (front bench)no
Robert SymsPooleCon (front bench)no
Apsana BegumPoplar and LimehouseLab (minister)no
Andrew RosindellRomfordCon (front bench)no
Mark PawseyRugbyCon (front bench)no
Ben SpencerRunnymede and WeybridgeCon (front bench)no
Alicia KearnsRutland and MeltonCon (front bench)no
Rebecca Long-BaileySalford and EcclesLab (minister)no
Holly Mumby-CroftScunthorpeConno
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
Julian KnightSolihullwhilst Con (front bench)no
David WarburtonSomerton and FromeConno
Stephen MetcalfeSouth Basildon and East ThurrockConno
Richard DraxSouth DorsetCon (front bench)no
John HayesSouth Holland and The DeepingsCon (front bench)no
Andrea LeadsomSouth NorthamptonshireConno
Emma Lewell-BuckSouth ShieldsLab (minister)no
Craig MackinlaySouth ThanetCon (front bench)no
Damien MooreSouthportConno
Derek ThomasSt IvesCon (front bench)no
Karen BradleyStaffordshire MoorlandsCon (front bench)no
Stephen McPartlandStevenageConno
Jo GideonStoke-on-Trent CentralCon (front bench)no
Bell Ribeiro-AddyStreathamLab (minister)no
Siobhan BaillieStroudCon (front bench)no
Esther McVeyTattonCon (front bench)no
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyCon (front bench)no
Geoffrey Clifton-BrownThe CotswoldsCon (front bench)no
Jackie Doyle-PriceThurrockCon (front bench)tellno
Thomas TugendhatTonbridge and MallingCon (front bench)no
Anthony MangnallTotnesCon (front bench)no
Nusrat GhaniWealdenCon (front bench)no
Peter BoneWellingboroughwhilst Con (front bench)no
Shaun BaileyWest Bromwich WestCon (front bench)no
Chris LoderWest DorsetCon (front bench)no
Harriett BaldwinWest WorcestershireCon (front bench)no
John PenroseWeston-Super-MareConno
Stephen HammondWimbledonConno
Steve BrineWinchesterCon (front bench)no
Adam AfriyieWindsorConno
Jonathan LordWokingConno
John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Jane StevensonWolverhampton North EastCon (front bench)no
Mark JenkinsonWorkingtonCon (front bench)no
Steven BakerWycombeConno
Marcus FyshYeovilCon (front bench)no
Julian SturdyYork OuterCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive