Higher Education Bill — 8 Jun 2004 at 19:00

[Amendment No. 19 not moved.]

Clause 27 [Sections 22 to 26: supplementary provisions]:

[Amendment No. 20 not moved.]

moved Amendment No. 21:

Page 13, line 35, at end insert-

"( ) Student fees paid to relevant institutions pursuant to this Act shall in principle be additional to and not in replacement of state funding provided for and in respect of the teaching of undergraduate students at such institutions which funding will be at an annual real level per student not less than the average provided over the previous three years."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 21) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 98; Not-Contents, 88.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con41 (+1 tell) 020.3%
Crossbench17 110.7%
Lab6 84 (+2 tell)50.3%
LDem29 (+1 tell) 046.9%
Total:93 8529.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Howarth of BrecklandCrossbenchno
Lord Campbell-Savours Labaye
Baroness Cohen of PimlicoLabaye
Lord Layard Labaye
Lord Puttnam Labaye
Baroness Warwick of UndercliffeLab (minister)aye
Lord Winston Lab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive